Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Chris from Sheffield

Nice touches but Basics Missed

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
I was here for the Giro d'Italia. The Wifi was great and very reliable, the coffee was sachets that you put in disposable paper cups, which I found better than using tea stained mugs. However, the room wasn't serviced during my stay and the duvet cover was more goff white/grey than white. The breakfast on my second day I asked for Juice and Coffee and if I was still there now, chances are I'd still not get it. On paying my bill I would've informed them of my grievances but I was asked to pay and not asked if I enjoyed my stay at all, a case of pay and go away.
1 out of 5
by Michael from France

Posted Feb 8, 2016 on Hotels
First of all, i applied filter for only hotels with parking. This hotel is on a pedestrian street - nearest parking 5 minute walk away. When i eventually found the correct address- with all luggage, in pouring rain, there was no hotel reception - only notice on door saying to go to a different building down the road. Eventually i was given room key - told to go back down the road. Once in the correct building, i had to literally CLIMB the stairs - nearly impossible with large suitcase. Room was minimal - no heating
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

Central, well presented, but beware steep stairs!

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Nice room, good location. View over rooftops from my window!
Cons: The booking should make it clear that there were stairs that didn't have an option of a lift.
Location: Central Nijmegen. Including ice cream a few metres away!
Good points: super central, clean and well-presented recently redecorated room. Friendly staff and nice breakfast buffet. As other reviews pointed out, it's run from a cafe ("bagels and beans" I think). The rooms are essentially above shops that are a few doors down the same street. Access was with swipe cards- I checked in about 6pm on a Sunday and was shown where it was. I paid €67.50 in total for a single room, which seemed fair in context. Bad points: not ideal if you have issues with stairs or have lots of luggage. There were multiple flights of old steep stairs. I enjoyed the old building! But I had just a rucksack! So at least enquire further if stairs will be an issue for you.
4 out of 5
by Andrew from Leeds

Recommended.

Posted Apr 26, 2015 on Hotels
Great location, comfortable room (room 22). Very small shower room, but the shower was warm and powerful. Breakfast is fine, an enjoyable feast of bagels, cheeses, meats, fruit salad, coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice. Plenty places nearby to eat in the evening - my recommendation is Cafe Funkenstein, just across the road. Quite simply the best burger I've ever tasted!
4 out of 5
by Maureen from Ireland

De Prince Stay

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels
Very convenient-right in the middle of everything. Very basic but suited our needs. Staff were very nice. Could have done with a safe for our passports and a second key would have been a bonus.
4 out of 5
by Charlie from Loughborough UK

Fascinating Place to Stay

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels
When the road shrank to bike width and our satnav hit the bollards we knew we were in for an interesting stay. I should have read the "hotel" description more closely. The main address is a single doorway to flats. The rooms - excellently appointed with modern decor - are in 6 different ocations close by and breakfast in a Bagel and Beans cafe. Staff extremely helpful. Breakfast to a high standard. Locality in old town Nijmegen superb. Parking a brisk walk away. A fascinating start to our 1500 mile trip.
4 out of 5
by semantron from New Zealand

Spread Out!

Posted Aug 21, 2013 on Hotels
De Prince in Nijmegen is an excellent choice for B&B. The main address given on the website doesn't take into account the several nearby properties included in the B&B constellation. Never mind - it was very nice & clean, with breakfast (fresh orange juice & fruit, bagels, great coffee) at 'Bagels & Beans' next door to the main address. Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian from Oxford, UK

Charming B&B with an incredibly warm welcome

Posted Aug 7, 2013
Pros: Breakfast and the staff
Cons: No air conditioning
Location: Perfect- right in the centre of the city and just a short walk from the station
This is a really lovely B&B, with such charming little rooms, an extremely warm welcome and a really tasty breakfast (you've got to try hagelslag on toast!). The only slight thing to detract from the experience was that the room lacked air conditioning, so if you're lucky enough to be there in a heatwave, you have to open the windows and wait for the room to cool down before you can go to sleep. But all in all, it was a really wonderful place to stay and one that I highly recommend!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel ruined by no reception staff

Posted Mar 8, 2013
Pros: The room, really lovely, and the location
Cons: Check in chaotic, check out a complete nightmare. Never again!
Location: Ideal - a shortish downhill walk from the train station, 5mins from the heart of Nijmegen
Attached to a bagel cafe, De Prince comprises five houses in the immediate vicinity done up as B+Bs. The room, for the price and very central location, is excellent, almost four-star luxury. The only problem is the logistic - you check in via busy staff in the bagel cafe, who barely have time to explain anything to you. Check out was worse, a real nightmare. The girl, seemingly inexperienced, was baking bagels while making coffee while fixing orange juice while putting things on trays while dealing with my check out, for which the credit card machine was not working and we had to move to the front of the cafe where it still did not work. I was in a hurry and so had to turn down breakfast - it would have just taken far too long. For any business traveller staying, it might be the same story. Beware, also, that it is a steep climb if you have a room at the top.
5 out of 5
by Ye Tian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2012 on Hotels