Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Location was very convenient for me,hotel very new and well maintained and the breakfast is decent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Paso TX

NIce clean hotel, not too close to downtown

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Staff, good full breakfast
Location: It is a far location from downtown, not much going on
I was going to McCormick place It is a 45-1 hour drive and $45 Uber. Worked OK
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Newly redone hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, cleanliness.
Cons: Just drinking water in the lobby at least from 6:00 AM to 9:00 PM.
Read that this hotel was newly redone with contemporary touch. My reservation came with breakfast included and the breakfast spread was healthy and balanced, not just highly sugared Danish rolls but included oatmeal, fruits, eggs, juices. It also provided iced water in the lobby. I was impressed. I will definitely return to it as my accommodation should the opportunity to visit Chicago comes again. Wi-fi and parking are free.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant surprise

Posted Mar 20, 2017
We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. Hotel is also fairly new, located across the street from the city police station. Very safe and quiet neighborhood.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Green Bay, WI

Location okay; noise terrible, couldn't sleep;

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: New, clean; staff friendly
Cons: Turn up the hot water temperature; Figure out how to decrease the wind noise coming thru the heating vent. Serve better scrambled eggs
Location: na
Grand opening; hotel looked nice; First clue of a problem was entering room; it was windy outside and the wind howled in through the heating/cooling system. Despite wearing earplugs, covering the heater with a towel; and covering our heads with a pillow, the noise was intolerable and prevented sleep all night. There were no other rooms to move to when we complained about the noise. With no sleep in the morning, we took showers and the water was tepid at best, so we walked out of the shower shivering. Eggs at breakfast were tasteless. Very disappointing with the IHG brand. We feel like we can no longer trust IHG to provide a good night's sleep, which is the main purpose of staying at a hotel. Our son advised us to avoid "cheap" hotels if you need to sleep, and go to a more expensive executive hotel. It sounds like we should have listened to him.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Convenient location & very helpful on short notice

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The smiles & genuine desire of the staff to help or answer questions. The bedding was amazingly comfortable. I need to purchase the pillows at home!
Cons: It's silly, but the bathrooms could use more hooks for clothing and /or wet towels. Especially if traveling with more than 1-2 adults.
Location: Close access to the highways and easy for us to get to many family & friend's in the surrounding communities.. very safe.
We arrived in Chicago for a family funeral, on short notice. Needing a place who would accommodate us with a crib for a 1-year old was trickier than we thought. Holiday Inn Express not only had a brand new crib for us, they also provided all the linens for baby ~ including blankets and comforter. We had our own, of course, but it was an extra that we didn't expect. The hotel and our room were both very clean. The staff was very friendly, helpful and kind. The breakfast buffet was handy and offered enough variety for choices. I've already told our local family members to suggest this location to any of their traveling friends when they themselves might be unable to house those visitors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from anon.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Waterheater/temp is a minor issue but workable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not many hotels in area, glad this one was great.

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Just about everything
Cons: THey could do a better job with getting HOT water to the rooms, ours (3 rooms) was warm, ok, but not HOT
great front desk people. Room was amazingly nice totally unexpected. Lobby was awesome, huge computers to work on, breakfast was so much better than most of the continental ones you see.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Illinois

This is a NEW hotel. Ignore the old reviews!

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: - New and high quality look. - Friendly management
Cons: - the shower has hot and cold labelled backwards
Before making a reservation, I came to Expedia and checked out the reviews. The reviews were pretty bad and the latest one was from 2015. Then I directly went to the hotel's site and and found out that they have opened recently. I was confused and gave them a call. My hunch was right - there used to be another Holiday Inn there that was closed. They have opened a new one with the exact same location - everything has been renovated. So I decided to take a chance and make a reservation there. It turned out that it was a good decision. The hotel is very new. Everything has modern and new look. The room was spacious and comfortable. The furnitures were all contemporary. The management was also super helpful and nice. I would definitely stay there again.