Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Disappointing experience

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Too many stars for services provided. The bed was old and creaking, bed sheet didn't match the bed, being too small. Bathtub looks dirty and small. The food was expensive and tasted weird, served by inexperienced staff, who put the forks and spoons directly on your table. They don't speak English and let you wait on the table too long for serving the food. Bottom of line, they don't deserve the four stars. Perhaps somebody should pay them a visit to revisit the state of the hotel, the way it looks now.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Hotel Vatel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are aware of all points you mentioned, and we forward your comments to the concerned departments. We regret to read that your stay was not up to your expectations and hope you that you will leave us the opportunity to pleasantly surprise you during your next stay. Best regards
5 out of 5
by Marcin

Satysfied!

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
All good! I do use hotels a lot, and this one met all of the criterias.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Aguilar, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review and hoping welcome you again on your next stay in Nîmes. Best regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by andres

like going to school

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
it is more like a teaching institute with the personnel in the process of learning!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Aguilar, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Within our hotel management school, professionals and students give the best of themselves to satisfy you. We will be glad to welcome you again, All the best from Nîmes Best Regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel for eating and sleeping

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable sleeping conditions and terrific food. WiFi was very slow however. Will definitely stay again !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Gregory from Burbank

Great Hotel, Service & Food

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
I was impressed with the overall service of everyone in the hotel. The food in the lower-level restaurant was of superior quality and contained the best dessert buffet I've ever seen. My only complaint would be that the hotel is far from any nearby restaurants or businesses, and since there's not a single vending machine in the hotel, one must resort to buying the snacks in the hotel room, indulge in a large meal, or drive some distance to the closest restaurant where you can obtain a light meal.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sleepless Night

Posted Nov 19, 2015 on Hotels
Room had no A/C, due to the fact that management decided to switch on the heat for winter (despite the fact that it was 72F/22C outside). Room was unbearably hot during the evening. Left with the choice of sweating all night or opening the window. If choosing the latter, one is greeted with loud noise from the highway, hungry hungry mosquitoes, and bright lights aimed conveniently into your room. Asked for a fan at front desk - said they had none. Seems like poor decision making on the part of management. Front desk personnel were kind and helpful within their limited powers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2016 by Aguilar, Hotel Management
Dear Client, We, the management team and students’ of Vatel, are happy that you have chosen Vatel for your stay. We apologise that your stay didn’t go as planned. The Vatel Hotel is currently equipped with centralized heating, which is controlled due to the general demands of the customers. The decision to turn on the heater, although the 22°c (the unexpected rise of the heat in the middle of winter) needs understanding. Your stay in our hotel was in the middle of November, which is usually a cold and windy weather at this time of year. We hope to see you again and will try our best to make your future stay with us as pleasant as possible. Yours Sincerely,
3 out of 5
by Steve from London

New Year's Day

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
Arrived on 1 January mid day, when hotel restaurant was fully booked for celebration meal. Couldn't find a place to park but managers took care of this for us once we finally reached reception. Pool was closed for cleaning but we only received an email about this after we had checkin in. So we cancelled second night of booking as pool was important for us. Of course we understand pools need cleaning some time, so we were just unlucky.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by Aguilar, Hotel Management
Sir, Thank for taking time to write about your stay in our hotel. We are sorry that you couldn’t enjoy the pool (it was notified on our website) and we hope to receive you again for your next vacancy in France. Best regards The Direction
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Wonderful Hotel experience, Nimes not so great....

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: The most comfortable bed and pillows in four weeks of travelling.
Cons: We had to ask for an extra towel a few times as we had not been given the correct number for our family. They need pool towels as well.
Location: Nimes did not have much to offer as a tourist visiting. No restaurants open in town -sat night! Surrounding sights - approx 1 hours drive away- good.
The Hotel was very welcoming, even when we asked to change rooms because we had been allocated a smoking room, this was not a problem for them. We had a wonderful buffet dinner at the hotel and enjoyed the pool and spa. When we booked in for a beauty treatment this was very professionally done. Great range of treatments for those who have been on the road a while.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2015 by Anne Maud Aguilar, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is fantastic to read that you had a wonderful stay at the Hotel and found the staff professional and helpful. It is always pleasant to hear such positive feedback, which serves as a great motivator to my team. It shows them that their passion and efforts to provide good service are appreciated by those who receive it. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again. Kind Regards.