Ratings based on 160 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by James

Niteroi diamond in the rough

Posted Aug 2, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed here for a wedding of our son and his Brazilian wife. We were in the hotel for over a week. Well the hotel set at the top of the hill with a great view of the surrounding water, there's also the noise at night involving drug sales and local favelas in the area. It's an older hotel, that has been somewhat updated, although there were still some significant issues, including problems with unsafe electrical outlets, a damaged window frame which caused the window whistle, and for another couple in our party they were without electricity and had to be moved to another room. Still, the daily breakfast was fairly decent in the beds were very comfortable. The staff try to do a good job and taking care of the guests. The best way to get to and from the hotel around town is by Uber, as there is not much that you can walk to close by.… At least not safely in certain parts of the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is on the bay lookibg to the Christ Redeemer

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Great hotel and the patio facing the bay has Excellent bays .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Karoline is a great employee at the front desk. She'll help you with whatever problem you have, that is very nivel when you are in a foreing country ..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beatiful pool.

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Personnel with limited english but willing to help
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham, Al

Room with picture perfect view🎑

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Room and view
Cons: See review
Location: Difficult to access.
Situated in Niteroi across the bay from Rio de Janeiro. Picture perfect views. Upgraded to a suite. The room was large and comfortable. The location is on a hill and difficult and dangerous to walk. Requires a taxi to get to ferry terminal, beaches, shopping and restaurants. Hotel should provide a shuttle service to these locations. Also staff Speak poor English and offer no tour options. There are no brochures advertising private tour options in the lobby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NEWCASTLE

Disappointed

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Service, food, signage, updating.
Location: It is a 30 min walk to town or a taxi. There is nothing to do nearby. It takes 2 taxis and a ferry ride to Rio.
We stayed for 15 nights so can give an honest and detailed account of our observations.The room we were given was poor. All the décor, fixture and fittings need replacing/updating. The air con is very loud at night, the extractor fan sounds like a helicopter, the mixer shower goes from just right to almost scalding and is potentially dangerous. The breakfast is the same every day, all the food we ordered took an age and was cold. 3 times was enough. The hotel is at the top of a very steep bank, its a 30 min walk into town, remembering of course the thigh busting, calf bursting bank back up to the hotel. Get taxis, they are cheap. The bar is quadruple what you pay at the super market. There is signs of repair everywhere and lots that need repairing. Single glazed. Only 2 staff members can speak a bit English.
5 out of 5
by Richard from Crewe

The Best Hotel in Rio, isn't in Rio

Posted Jan 9, 2016 on Hotels
I'll write this review how I told it to my mother, I don't think there's many hotels in the world with a better view than this, the balcony faces the sugarloaf and Christ the redeemer, brilliant at all times of the day. The service was very good, most spoke English and the ones that didn't were still very polite and helpful. Breakfast was good, food was good by the pool, spa isn't really a spa so don't get too excited by that. The only thing that I would say is that if you stay here you need a hire car, this is Niteroi not Rio, if you want to see the sites then you'll need to cross the sea, by bridge or by boat. The boat service didn't seem organised so we used the car a lot, parking in Rio is difficult so even that isn't a good idea but it's a better idea than the boat. Really though this hotel is lovely, there's a shopping centre nearby for a bit of Americanisation, and a lovely long costal walk right outside the hotel, looks a bit dodgy in areas but the people all seemed really nice :) I'd recommend this place.
4 out of 5
by Robert from Venezuela

Best of Niteroi

Posted Nov 17, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel personnel were very helpful. The view was the best I could ask. Wifi was not too reliable but nothing to worry about. Location was good. 100% recommended stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and pretty

Posted Aug 14, 2015 on Hotels
There are lots of shelves for your things, a full length mirror!, great view of the bay, very kind and helpful staff with great English, flawless internet service across the entire property, tasty restaurant. The iron was a bit funky and the walls were paper thin. The neighborhood was nice with an outdoor night market just down the street. It's walking distance to the university and the beach where people jog all day and night. It is so pretty and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2015 on Hotels