Ratings based on 861 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Home away from home

Posted Mar 12, 2018
First off the hotel staff were wonderful. They were all very willing and eager to make recommendations for travel, food, things to see. The free cookies in the lobby were a nice touch. The breakfast food was excellent! The room was comfortable. I travel 3 -5 times a year and this is the most comfortable I have ever been. I'll definitely be back next time I'm in San Francisco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maxwell, Ca

Wonderful hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2018
The staff were very nice and helpful! The accommodations were beautiful..we had a very pleasant stat. Can’t wait to come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Old world charm minutes from Union Square

Posted Mar 1, 2018
Pros: The friendly and helpful staff and all the little extras that made our stay more personal than it would be in a large, modern hotel.
Location: Located close to a number of restaurants and only about a 5-10 minute walk to Union Square and the hub of the city. A number of laundromats close by.
From the minute we arrived for our four night stay we experienced friendly, cheerful and helpful staff. Our room was lovely, spacious and comfortable with the charm of yesteryear, the quirkiness of the 1960's in it's artwork and the comforts of today. Loved our fireplace (gas) and the very comfortable bed. The afternoon wine and snacks served in the period style sitting rooms were a fabulous extra. While sipping on a glass of wine we were able to met some of the other guests and share experiences and stories. We also appreciated being spoiled with a jar of freshly baked cookies greeting us in the foyer every afternoon. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Love this hotel!

Posted Feb 14, 2018
We have stayed here multiple times and have had great experiences each time. The hotel has vintage character, the staff is very friendly, and the beds are comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Good Place

Posted Jan 27, 2018
Pros: The staff and their super desire to be of service, plus the charm of the place
Cons: Almost no shelf space in the bathroom. Technical problems with the TV and the phone
Location: Good location near to several San Francisco attractions.
A comfortable hotel with excellent and supportive staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Fabulous hotel perfectly situated eclectic feel

Posted Jan 23, 2018
Wonderful stay at the White Swan ! Could not have been more impressed . Hotel short walk from union square and all downtown attractions. All great but the staff took it to a whole different level. They were superb nothing was too much trouble
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Annual Business Trip

Posted Jan 21, 2018
I come to San Francisco once per year on business and stay in the General Union Square area. I have stayed at many hotels over the years including previous stays at the White Swan and I have to say this is one of the very best. Location, atmosphere, comfort, value, friendly and professional staff... it has it all. The breakfast is great and I enjoy the nightly wine reception. I will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable Stay

Posted Jan 13, 2018 on Hotels
Terrific hotel with great service. Very plush and comfortable room. Lovely continental breakfast. I will definitely come back next time I’m in The City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rooms feels like a home

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: I liked the staff very much! I also liked the dressing room and the fireplace.
Location: A lot of shops within walking distance as well as China town.
The staff was very nice and helpful! The room was comfortable and felt much more like home than most motel rooms.
5 out of 5
by Karin

Posted Jan 6, 2018 on Hotels
Amazing place and we loved it.!