Ratings based on 868 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2018
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Not your typical boring hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2018
My second time staying at the White Swan. I love it for its uniqueness and cozy charm. A bit like going back in time to Old School Britain. The included breakfast is perfect, a frig full of free soda, a working gas log fireplace control from bedside! Where else do you get those amenities?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

disappointed with stay

Posted Apr 27, 2018
The hotel is cute with possibilities but it was under construction. Did not know this when I made reservations or I would have chosen another place. When we checked in we were informed the water would be turned off for 2 hours. The fireplace that was to be our heat at night did not work and neither did the wall heater. The shower would not give me hot water. I was informed the handle was on backwards. The toilet quit flushing the morning we were leaving..Not good! Seems like some kind of compensation would have been offered but no. Will not stay again and will make sure I let friends know not to book here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel in great location

Posted Apr 22, 2018
We had a great experience staying at the White Swan Inn. The staff couldn't have been nicer and all the extras were very unexpected. The breakfast was wonderful, happy hour in front of the fire was very relaxing and drinks in our fridge were replenished every day. If you want a hotel that is unique and cozy instead of a large chain, stay here by all means!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Home away from home

Posted Mar 12, 2018
First off the hotel staff were wonderful. They were all very willing and eager to make recommendations for travel, food, things to see. The free cookies in the lobby were a nice touch. The breakfast food was excellent! The room was comfortable. I travel 3 -5 times a year and this is the most comfortable I have ever been. I'll definitely be back next time I'm in San Francisco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maxwell, Ca

Wonderful hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2018
The staff were very nice and helpful! The accommodations were beautiful..we had a very pleasant stat. Can’t wait to come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Old world charm minutes from Union Square

Posted Mar 1, 2018
Pros: The friendly and helpful staff and all the little extras that made our stay more personal than it would be in a large, modern hotel.
Location: Located close to a number of restaurants and only about a 5-10 minute walk to Union Square and the hub of the city. A number of laundromats close by.
From the minute we arrived for our four night stay we experienced friendly, cheerful and helpful staff. Our room was lovely, spacious and comfortable with the charm of yesteryear, the quirkiness of the 1960's in it's artwork and the comforts of today. Loved our fireplace (gas) and the very comfortable bed. The afternoon wine and snacks served in the period style sitting rooms were a fabulous extra. While sipping on a glass of wine we were able to met some of the other guests and share experiences and stories. We also appreciated being spoiled with a jar of freshly baked cookies greeting us in the foyer every afternoon. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2018 on Hotels
I could not connect to their wi-fi. Their staff, not very well trained, couldn't help me. They refused to discount my bill. This is an old building, funky elevator, but it is quiet. The neighborhood is ok.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2018 on Hotels
No air-con.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Love this hotel!

Posted Feb 14, 2018
We have stayed here multiple times and have had great experiences each time. The hotel has vintage character, the staff is very friendly, and the beds are comfortable.