Ratings based on 365 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orem, UT

Older Hacienda Type Hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Location at the top of the hill
Cons: Front Office, elevators, better heaters
Difficult to get around the hotel. There are no elevators, so you must climb stairs. The front office is not working, so check-in is in the middle of the complex. Heater is not big enough to fully heat the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint, Spanish motif, seasonally crowded "resort"

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Has had a major fire which burned the restaurant, kitchen and lobby. Individual rooms are nice, large, comfortable. Covers a large area with nice views. Looked only fractionally occupied when I was there (late January).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2015
There was a fire there over summer that crippled this facility. There are no services or amenities due to fire damage. No restaurant, no room service, no bar. The place was deserted. If they ever repair the damages, it would have potential to be a pleasant place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rustic, Abandoned looking Hotel

Posted Dec 21, 2015
We arrived at this hotel at almost 11pm, we needed a place to rest so we could continue on our road trip. The placed looked abandoned, no people, no cars in sight. Their pictures online are probably from its prime time and it may have been great at one point but not anymore. We couldn't find the office and it was actually quite scary as there was no one in sight, we finally saw some handwritten signs that led to one of the hotel rooms and the sign said to ring the bell after 11pm. We rang about 5 times and knocked a couple more and nothing, finally I called them and asked if they were open as we had a prepaid reservation and we were outside. The guy who answered the door asked if we had knocked I said Yes, several times... He was polite and even offered us some water, I asked if there were any restaurants near by as we were hungry and he said no. I think he felt bad for us as our son grab some chips and he didn't charge us. As we went around to park we only noticed one other car there, the place is huge which surprised me to only see one single car. The rooms were decent and clean, I guess if you are only looking for a place to rest near the border this would be ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wickinburg az.

No microwave

Posted Dec 8, 2015
It was great. The only upset was no microwave in the room. Has a refrigerator that cool but only need a microwave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Lovely resort which has fallen on hard times

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: The views
Cons: The restaurant needs to be reopened, and the whole resort needs a major facelift.
Location: Very quite area, but there are some places to eat nearby. Tubac Presidio and the Tumacacori state park and mission are about 10 miles away
This has obviously been a beautiful resort. The views are spectacular, but it needs a big face lift on the outside. The rooms are lovely, and kept very clean. Everything works. The ground staff do their best to keep the gardens and grounds up to scratch. The pool is large, and well heated, and there is a lovely hot tub. The pool surroundings are lovely too.However, the paint is very faded, and the paths are cracking. Much maintenance is needed. We were told there was a kitchen fire in June 2015, and the dining room burned down, so there is no restaurant on site, and no food is available. It is a shame about this, as it could be a super place to stay. The lobby is closed off, and there is chain link fence around the lobby and restaurant. This does not give a good first impression of the resort.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2015
Cons: No food services available there, nor any for over 3 miles, then just Mex=Tex.
A former resort with most of the hotel, except rooms and pool, fenced off due to major fire THREE years ago. All amenities gone. No rebuilding or refurbishing anywhere. And no refund. We left very unhappy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kristi from St Paul, MN

Convenient place to stay

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was undergoing construction in the main lobby and restaurant due to a fire. Due to this I got a great rate on a double room. The hotel was really clean, had a very relaxed vibe and was perfect for what I needed. The facilities that were available (pool, hot tub and fitness room) were great. Not a bad place to stay, and it is close to a lot of small towns that are great for sight seeing.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sheila

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
Called for directions, no answer. No lobby, no food, no drinks,, no service. Room problems: phone didn't work, leaky faucet, broken door lock and glass doors didn't open. Overall condition is dark and rundown.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
Did realize there was no restaurant on property due to fire. They said this was on the booking website but don't recall seeing it. Should have been more obvious but we did find a nice pizza place close by. The room felt a little isolated and the door was not well lit, at night it was hard to find the key lock to open. The staff was very accommodating and friendly.