Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Titusville, Fl

Romantic

Posted Dec 19, 2016
We stay for our 25th anniversary and it was wonderful. Stay for 2 night and it wasn't enough. We staying in bay side. Room queen ,coastal decor comfort with everything to feel your are in your home. Perfect for us. Beautiful view, deck for fishing. The beach just 50 feet. If you looking peaceful, romantic. This the place. Don't forget to visit Venice for shopping and eat Italian food. Sunset best experience..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norwich, England

On the beach

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: The beach
Cons: The accommodation could do with a refurb
Location: Great location, but away from eateries
We felt that the accommodation was very small for the rate charged. No storage within the room and we were always walking around our suitcases for the duration of our stay. We payed for a beach view and we're told the that we could see this from our room, we were on the ground floor and the only way we could see the beach was if we bent down and looked through the dead palm leaves. The only good this about this hotel was the 'lovely beach' which unfortunately we couldn't see from our room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvannia

Right on the beach!

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Very nice place to stay, right on the beach. Easy access to ocean, pool and local restaurants. Room very clean, staff friendly and easy to deal with, reasonably priced. We will definitely go back. Sunsets are fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod

Plan to return!

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Comfortable, location. Beautiful sunsets, grills available, nice room.
Cons: AC units outside bedroom window. Would choose another room, but still a good place to relax and enjoy vacation.
Location: Good location - not only could we enjoy the Sarasota area, but spent time in Punta Gorda and Ft. Myers, both easy to get to.
This is a great place. Location is great, BEST sunsets! The staff is very responsive. They are doing updates to the property, the only reason they get less than Excellent - when they are done, it will be! We will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Great

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Great price and close to family
Cons: Older room
Location: Gulf beach 200ft away
Condo units at a fair off-season price. Stayed in a Efficency unit on parking lot (lowest cost). Basic oldet motel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port St. Lucie, FL

One of 2 nights very good.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Reserved two nights. Received call from resort after confirming reservation to say we would need to switch rooms after first night due to overbooking. First room was old, in need of repair and serious updating. Exit door to patio was under construction and bathroom appeared dirty. Since we were escaping hurricane Matthew it was an acceptable space. Second room was very comfortable with all ammenities, quiet and allowed us to finally relax. The beach offered a quiet respit. Close to all shopping, restraunts and of course beach for sunset walks. The staff were very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent choice for our weekend get away!

Posted May 11, 2016
This hotel met ALL of our needs for a quiet, quaint and relaxing long weekend! We stayed on the beach side which is just a few steps away from the beach. Room was nice, hotel grounds were well kept, grilling area is nice to enjoy a meal with an ocean view!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota

get a way weekend

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: On the beach
Cons: Comfortable chairs
Location: Great location - Nearby good restaurants
Missed not having comfortable chairs to sit in to watch tv. Thought we were getting a room with a gulf view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Pros: Location!
Cons: A bit larger room - TV didn't work one day which upset the husband!
BEAUTIFUL, natural environment!! Close to beach - tame bird and squirrel on property!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Beach Retreat - Small Vintage Hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: Closeness to the beach.
Cons: Would have been nice to have had a nice place to sit during light rain. A covered porch area would be a nice addition.
Location: The key is mostly residentual. Beautiful drive. There a a couple of resturants about 1/2 mile away. One that does have nice outdoor dining abd barn
Beach Retreat is small vintage hotel. Nothing fancy, but clean and safe feeling. Most rooms open to center courtyard. Courtyard has 2 gas grill and tables. They provide beach chairs free of charge. The beach is steps from your room, easy to fix a drink, and return to your room for a refill. No high rise condo's, beach is not crowded. Nice beach for walking. There are a couple of restaurants fairly close, probalby 1/4 mile walk across bridge. The room has coffee pot, full size refrigerator, stove and oven. No dishwasher. Laundry facilities are available for guests to use.