Ratings based on 393 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hartford, CT

good hotel for reasonable price

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Personnel was very professional and welcoming.
Location: Although far from city center, it is close (10 min walk) from Metro. Safe location.
Good hotel, reasonable price with extraordinary personnel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel. Good value

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Staff very helpful. Nice quiet hotel. Close enough to metro. Basic breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham UK

Good breakfast and thats it really

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: Good location, close to public transport. Good breakfast
Cons: Beds made noises, rooms were hot.
Location: Location is great as it is close to public transport
Booked the hotel on the reviews. We had no a/c, beds were squeaking. Rooms were clean but sheets had a damp smell. Breakfast was really good. Considering this was a 4 star hotel, alot of things did not meet those expectations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Francesca, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we' re going to check with the Laundry about the bad smell; about the A.C we had problems this week, it is working but it's a bit weak in some Rooms, the maintenance is coming on Mondar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from From Boston

Nice hotel in a safe central neiborhood

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Confortable and close to all the major must see sites in Rome We felt very safe walking in this neighborhood Close to train and bus stops. Our suite and bathroon were very large and confortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Francesca, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing! I would stay again!!

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel Fenix was amazing! I was originally planning to stay three nights (because committing to a hotel before you know what you're getting into is scary) but extended my stay an additional three nights for the duration of my trip in Rome. The staff was incredibly kind and helpful. I loved the quaint vintage, yet modern, vibe of the hotel. It was very comfortable and had everything I needed in a hotel. I know air conditioning lacks in many European hotels, but Hotel Fenix has a wall air conditioning unit that kept me very comfortable in the hot weather. I loved the overall experience, and my favorite part was breakfast in their "garden" (similar to a courtyard). There were a few occasions I could smell cigarette smoke in my room, even though it's a nonsmoking hotel. Not sure if this was from a neighboring room or outside. Not a big deal as I didn't bring it up to the staff. It is a bit of a trek to the city center via the route I took (i.e. St. Peter's Square, etc.) and I always took the "scenic route" on the bus to get there, which sometimes could take almost an hour because the stop by the hotel and the stop by St. Peter's Square were on opposite ends of the route. There are shorter ways, but I chose this method because it was easy. By taxi, getting to the city center is only 10-20 minutes depending on traffic and destination, so still close!! If you stay here, visit the nearby gelato sho, Gutilla!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2017
Great place to stay. Safe area. Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by Francesca, Hotel Management
THANK you!
4 out of 5
by Donald

Great value. Nice stay.

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Here for a meeting nearby. The hotel is a bit of a schlep from most tourist sites. We took the bus or the metro into town. Bus station is 1 minute. Metro is less than 10. Easily accessible so no complaints. The hotel is a nice property. Nothing fancy but very comfortable. The room was spacious cut the bathroom was tiny. Why do hotels never clean those shower heads. Hard to get water out of stopped up holes. Very comfy bed and linens. Breakfast was barely mediocre. They say it lasts till 10 but by they no longer replenished anything. The front desk staff recommended two great restaurants which is really appreciated. Plus they have bus tickets as well. Unless they run out! All in all a nice stay for a good price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ottawa

Very sloppy with credit cards.

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: Not much around.
Double charged me. Took me two months and tens of phone calls to get refunded.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels