Ratings based on 616 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A characterful hotel . You feel you are in Rome

Posted Oct 17, 2017
The location was very good after sight seeing and the noise of the central part of Rome .it was great to be in such an attractive and more peaceful part of the city in such a comfortable hotel . The Villa Torlonia nearby is full of history and the neighbourhood had shops and cafes . The transport links are also good . We would go again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel but terrible services

Posted Jul 5, 2017
We were given a basement room with one very small window located at roof level so our only view was a car wheel which was parked for the duration of our stay and pretty much blocked out all daylight. This was our first visit to Rome so it would have been nice to look out a window to a garden and to be able to actually get some fresh air. Internet/wifi was down for the whole 3 days of our stay. We complained and was told it would be fixed on day 1, then again on day 2. Allegedly it got fixed on day 3 but the "booster" for the basement rooms wasn't reset and the hotel staff didn't know how to do it.
5 out of 5
by Tom

If you want to pamper yourself a little in Rome

Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
The Principe Torlonia is out of the main tourist area. We found it to be quiet and luxurious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LONDON

Very nice hotel and lovely staff

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Staff and location. Hotel rooms where great
We were located 5 mins walk from the tube station (Bologna) and few mins walk to restaurants and shops. Located near what the cab driver say is the nice part of Rome. Takes less than 10 mins by train to get to heart of Rome. Hotel room was cleaned daily and had fresh towels and toiletries. I couldn't find anything wrong with this hotel. Rooms where big and bed where very comfortable and easy to feel asleep on. Could be the wine to :) The garden was lovely and relaxing. After a long day walking in the city, it’s nice to relax with a glass of wine in the garden. The breakfast had great choice (Im a veggie so i don’t expect much), but great for meat eaters. Highly recommended if you want to relax at night and enjoy the busy city 10 mins away by train.
5 out of 5
by Janine

great stay in embassy area

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
lovely spacious hotel in embassy district Friendly and helpful staff Great gardens
5 out of 5
by Leonardo

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
I love this hotel, I feel like my home but the cleaness was poor.
4 out of 5
by Nicholas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by eva

Hotel with Ambience.

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is beautiful! We love places that are not typical. It had style and it was very very clean. The breakfast served buffet style was wonderful. It had great breads, pies and cakes and you could take as much as you like.The area was amongst the homes of diplomats and though it was not in the center of Rome. We liked the ambience and the location was beautiful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Disappointing experience

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Décor
Cons: Facilities Customer service
Location: Not a lot in the vicinity except a couple of restaurants and the Metro (within walking distance)
We went to Rome over the bank holiday weekend and had chosen Hotel Principe Torlonia due to its modern décor, star rating and location. The first morning we went down for breakfast there were no tables available and the one waitress who was working told us to go and eat our food at the bar (amongst the dishes she had previously collected). On hearing this another table of guests moved their plates for us so that we could have a table. This happened again on the second day. The TV did not work; although I didn't go on holiday to watch TV, if the facilities are there they should be in working condition. Upon flagging this to the member of staff at reception I was told she was the only one working that shift and couldn't do anything. The bathroom stank of smoke leading me to believe people were smoking indoors, where were the smoke detectors?! The justifications given were "it's the holiday season so we are short staffed" and to the breakfast incident "it's because we are fully booked and don't know what time people will come down for breakfast." Being fully booked yet short staffed makes no sense; either take on more staff or take on less bookings. Overall an awful experience; I paid a four star price for a two star service. I wouldn't recommend the hotel to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff work super hard to help but so many issues

Posted Apr 15, 2017
This hotel could be amazing and the staff work really hard to help, however, they clearly weren't prepared to be open for Easter week (mid April) Picked this hotel due to the roof garden and lovely outside space to relax in after the busy days of walking around Rome. However, we arrived to find a builder's construction yard outside as they built a new decking area. This also meant you could not eat breakfast outside and were confined to a small shack, with plastic sheaths that made 23 degrees in Rome feel a lot worse. The noise also woke us up. Breakfast was not ideal with the drilling and banging on the other side of the plastic. Food was also lacking in options and eggs were often in demand and unavailable. Had to set my own table and ask separately for a cup, plate, hot water for coffee and cutlery. In terms of our room, it was lovely but there was no air-con to start with the first day. This seemed a complaint of a few guests and it was resolved by the second day. The hotel offered to move our room on day 2 ( there was nothing available the 1st night) but the room was above the builders, so decided to stay out as although hot, it was quieter. The roof terrace was not available for use though all it needed was the cushions on the sofas and a quick jet wash. We were told the outside area would be available on the last night of our 3 night stay but it wasn't. We asked for an iron and had to wait 40 mins, arrived home on day 2 to find our room hadn't been serviced.