Ratings based on 997 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent hotel in good location.

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: Location, atmosphere, rooms, on-site shop. Cocktails.
Cons: Food in restuarant
Location: Excellent location right across the road from Eagle Beach. Bus service runs past hotel entrance. Lots of parking outside the rear of the hotel.
This place has everything you need. It’s quiet, low key and very comfortable - much nicer than the high rise ‘factory hotels’ elsewhere. I wouldn’t have any hesitation in recommending this hotel. We were fortunate to be upgraded from a standard suite to a 2 bedroom suite and it was extremely nice and well equipped. It caters primarily for american guests so there’s the usual hidden costs like service charges and taxes to contend with. My only criticism was that food in Mangos and Passions restaurants was average at best. We tried them both once and dined elsewhere on other evenings - there are some good restaurants nearby. However, lunch at the beach bar was good and reasonably priced. Both bars do exceptionally good cocktails and offer good value at happy hour. The on-site shop is very useful and sells good wine at better than local supermarket prices.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by AMBR Management, Hotel Management
Dear Bill, Thank you for providing us with such detailed feedback of your stay. It is great to see that you liked our quiet location and to hear that our Two-Bedroom Suite was extremely nice and well-equipped. We hope that you had a lovely and relaxing time! Thank you for the kind words and we hope to welcome you back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great hotel, would definitely stay there again.

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: Staff, proximity, clean, not too crowded.
Cons: My only complaint was the lack of an adequate hospitality room to enable us to pass the time between checkout and waiting for the airport transfer.
Location: great location, lots to do and see - you have to see and experience for yourself.
Overall, very, very positive experience at the Amsterdam. This hotel is by far superior to the others along the Route 1 strip, and I suspect elsewhere on the Island. It's as close to the beach as you can get and within walking distance of shopping and other activities. The staff at Amsterdam are fantastic, starting with Alyson at check-in, Billy our porter, the cleaning staff for the room, the restaurant (Elise), etc, etc. They all go the extra mile to make you feel welcome. I wasn't sure I made the right decision in staying at the Amsterdam, but after my experience, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Aruba.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by AMBR Management, Hotel Management
Dear AEF, Thank you for your taking the time to review us in great detail! We are excited to hear that you had such a great experience. It really means a lot to see that you loved the location and the staff. I will be sure to let Alyson, Billy and Elise know that you mentioned them in your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to our One Happy Island and thank you again for the great review!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from binghamton, new york

Relaxing

Posted Nov 30, 2017
If you are looking for a low key relaxing trip without being jam packed on the beach, the Amsterdam is a fantastic choice. Grounds are beautiful, room is fantastic, and a wonderful staff. Plus it's a short trip to the hustle and bustle of Palm Beach. Great stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by AMBR Management, Hotel Management
Dear LP, Thank you for taking the time to review us! It is great to see that you liked the location, that our grounds were beautiful and to hear that your room was fantastic. We hope that you had a lovely and relaxing time! Thank you for the kind words and we hope to welcome you back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Multiple Stays!

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: location
We have stayed at the Amsterdam Manor 4 times. Every time the staff has been very courteous and helpful if we have needed anything. You can't beat the location with Eagle Beach just across the street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by AMBR Management, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to review us! It is great to see that you liked the location and to hear that our staff was accommodating and friendly. We are glad to know that you had a lovely and relaxing time and we hope to welcome you back for the fifth time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Friendliest Staff!

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Staff, Location, Beach proximity
Amsterdam Manor was everything we were looking for and more! The beach is literally right across the street, and the staff was amazing. Friendly, attentive and had great recommendations to make our stay perfect. Would definitely stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by management, Hotel Management
Dear Priscilla, Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are glad to hear that you loved your experience and that you found our staff to be attentive. We hope to welcome you back for another stay soon and thank you for the kind comments!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new hampshire

Perfect place for beach lovers

Posted Nov 18, 2017
This hotel was a perfect choice. We loved Eagle Beach and walked the full length every day. The staff was friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The grocery store was a short walk. The bus stop to either town or the high rise area was right out front. But mostly we hung out on the beach. There were restaurants nearby and 2 on site. I do wish the hotel would offer lighter fare in the evening. The absolute best restaurant was Terrazza Italiana where I had the best entree in years!!! I have never booked with Expedia before and was very satisfied.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by management, Hotel Management
Dear Susan, Thank you for taking the time to review us! We appreciate the kind words. We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful experience and that our staff was accommodating. Thank you for sharing your pictures and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Great location, beautiful beach and excellent staff. Very clean but disappointed with the room. Poor lighting, had to buy a few ligh tbulbs, separate toilet from bathroom?? Room was crowded and not laid out properly. We had a superior king suite on the ground level
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! Please know that we are currently working to upgrade the property and have many plans in place to update our facilities! We hope that you are as excited as we are about these great changes and that you will give us another chance! Thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope to welcome you back to our Happy Island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Hotel room is spacious and very clean. I would give everything a five but the shower in my room was only lukewarm. I did ask the hotel staff about it, they were very attentive but couldn’t fix it, so the shower rates a maximum of 4. I do think this isn’t the norm. I want to stay there again but am hesitant because of this only. Everyone was truly wonderful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Tina, Thank you for providing us with such detailed feedback of your stay. We pride ourselves in improving our services from each review and that is what we are doing. Currently, we have plans to increase the natural light in all the rooms along with some furniture changes to make everything feel more like home. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future so that we can show you our improvements! Thank you once again for your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia, USA

Amazing resort!

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Couldn’t have found a better location, it’s just across the street from Eagle Beach in the low-rise area. Greeted with a rum punch from very friendly & knowledgeable staff. On-site concierge for any trips or outings on the island. Would definitely stay there again, great value!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are glad to hear that you loved the location as well as our staff. We truly appreciate the kind comments. We hope to welcome you back soon and thank you again for the review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Great location Not very crowded and a lot of space

Posted Nov 4, 2017
People who work there are great Beach is great Chairs are always available Room was on 2nd floor with great view of y The beach Ask for Jennifer when you check in She is the best
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Dan, Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are happy to see that you loved the quiet atmosphere and the location. Thank you for the kind words and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.