Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northampton

Convienant for visitng family

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Friendly and helpfull staf
Cons: Shower
Location: Close to city centre plenty to do and see in city
Could do wih a bit of sprucing up in some areas ie some carpets a bit worse for wear and a bit gruby. The shower in our room was useless just a trickle if we had been staying longer than one day we would have had to change rooms as it would have been imposable for my daughter who has thick hair to was it .Breakfast was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Hannah, Hotel Management
Hello Shirley, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We will certainly use your feedback to make some improvements to provide a better experience in the future. Great to see the positive comments about the staff!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Jul 22, 2016
I stayed at the George Hotel for one night while on business in the area. While the staff were welcoming and friendly the internal décor appeared very tired and outdated. The room was particularly disappointing and had a musty smell. Furniture was old and the bed was very uncomfortable. The cleanliness of the bathroom left something to desired too with half used toiletries left in the bath and visible dust sat upon the skirting boards. The hotel is in desperate need of investment and without it could affect the reputation of the Best Western group.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

single room

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Cons: It could include breakfast
I paid 54.00 for a single room at this hotel and the staff were very helpful but my room was not at all what I expected. When I entered the room the smell of damp was strong. The carpet felt cold and damp and the bathroom had a dip in it under the lino. during the night although the bed was comfy I got incredibly hot and I was unable to open any windows as it was very high and stiff so subsequently I had a very bad night. It was in my opinion, below par for other hotels I have stayed in. The cost did not include breakfast but it was my fault for not checking when I booked. If I was going to Norwich on my own again I would by pass this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well located for most needs

Posted May 14, 2016
Hotel is very dated, room smelt of damp and cigarettes. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Shame the condition of the hotel lets it down.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Certainly not the Best

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: The hotel has good car parking and is in a quiet location within easy walking distance of the city centre
Cons: improve the cleaning standards and refresh the decoration
Hotel is old and rambly, the reception main stairwell and bar were clean and pleasant. The upper hall was tired in appearance and could have done with a repaint. The room was small but adequate in size, the bathroom was clean and had the usual towels shampoo etc, so far so good. However the bedroom carpet was badly stained and a layer of dust was evident behind the door that could be rolled into a dust ball with the finger (the door opened to the wall)The bedding was clean and had been freshly made, however the mattress on the bed felt well used .The decor was was bland and seemed as though it had not been painted in . I felt uncomfortable within the room due to its general condition and slept on top of the bed .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice small hotel

Posted May 11, 2016
Good overall experience ,would stay again next time in are.will recommend to others.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good enough for a one night stay.

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Close to city centre.
Cons: The room looked a little tired in appearance.
Location: We used this hotel as it is very close to the city and nightlife.
Hotel staff were lovely and easily fixed a small problem with our room. We had booked a family room for three, but only had a room with a double bed. We explained this to reception and they immediately gave us the room opposite as an extra.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Booked through you At same hotel 31st December 2015.. Room was good, especially because it was at a reduced rate. This time, the standard of the room was poor, basic, in need of refurbishment.. Had trouble working shower, kettle didn't work, walls had mound on them,also the shower room had a musty smell to it..could hear everything from the room above my room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Enjoyable one night stay

Posted Jan 15, 2016
We only stayed one night - but the room was big, quiet, and the bed was massive and really comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff are great but hotel is very tired

Posted Nov 27, 2015
The hotel is a need of some refurbishment. Room had damp patches. Bathroom scruffy. But staff were delightful.