Ratings based on 645 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome

Posted Apr 9, 2018
Everything was great and it was right across from shopping and waterside
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Clean hotel, great service and location

Posted Mar 20, 2018
Stayed here for a long weekend getaway for five nights with my boyfriend. We had a great time! Everything that we experienced during our stay was A+. A few minor quibbles that I'll explain below. Parking was a breeze, but it is valet parking and they charge you $19/night. You pay for location, I guess. Front desk staff were all immensely helpful and friendly, from getting our room serviced right away (the internet wasn't working our first night there, and cleaning our room even though we left late, around noon-2pm every day), giving us recommendations on where to go at night, and assisting us with transportation options. There's also a little mini-mart right next to the front desk where you can pick up any amenities/snacks that you may need. There's also a microwave available there, as well. Room was clean, the bed was big and comfortable, and the bathroom had Paul Mitchell soap/shampoo/conditioner/lotion. TV has Netflix, Hulu, YouTube, and Pandora already loaded onto it. We had a great nights' sleep for all five nights we were there. The hotel also has an indoor pool and a jacuzzi, and there's a laundry facility on site, as well, with two washers and two dryers, and it's $1.50 per cycle. It takes quarters. ~5-10 minute walk to downtown and Granby Street, and the MacArthur Center. Only minor complaints I had were that there's no safe in the room, and the food in the Bistro was mediocre, though the prices weren't bad. Would return if we're in Norfolk again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was nice but had a few inconveniences

Posted Mar 19, 2018
Pros: I liked the location
Cons: Parking and the way you receive your breakfast voucher
Location: There were great restaurants and the pier close by
Arriving at the hotel it was windy and chilly. We were told they only had valet parking and it would be $19.99 per day. We felt rushed into grabbing our things out of our car as others were waiting to be parked. They next day we had been out all day. Upon returning to the hotel the fire alarm was going off and they valet parking was very busy. we were told to leave our keys in the car and they would take care of it. The next morning we went to get the car and they had lost our key the attendant finally found it in the unsure drawer of the outside podium. It took thirty minutes for us to get our car. When we got in the car all the instruments in the car had been adjusted. (which is unnecessary just to park the car) I am not sure if it had been driven off the premise as I did not look at the mileage. But it felt that way.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2018
OK, I guess for the price.....,...................................................................................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

loved this hotel and location

Posted Mar 11, 2018
Pros: location, updated spotlessly clean
Location: navy museum, warship on location
we had never been to Norfolk and only knew we wanted to be somewhat close to the water. we were very happy that we booked this hotel, it is in a perfect location, was contemporary and updated and spotlessly clean. the room was cozy and comfortable. we went to the navy museum and found that our location was good for what we wanted to do. also easy to find
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

Staff Excellent / Hotel Room Needy

Posted Feb 21, 2018
Got to hotel and was greeted by a very knowledgeable and friendly car attendant. At front desk the personnel were very friendly and helpful(so far so great). Entered the assigned room which at first glance appeared well maintained. Went in to bathroom. Light was so dim, couldn’t have been more then 40 watt bulb. Went to use toilet. There was a big wad of knotted up hair floating in it. Gross!! Light at the vanity was also dim. There was one small trash can in the room without a bag in it (seems rather unsanitary based on what could be placed in it).Later determined that not all the electrical outlets worked if you wanted lights on at the same time. Overall except for the personnel that we interacted with, it was a disappointing experience and I wouldn’t recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Beautiful experience! Will definitely be coming back for stats in the future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

No tea at Marriott

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Pros: Comfortable bed
Cons: Tea Bags with the in-room coffee service, like every other hotel in the US.
While there was in-room coffee, as expected; there was no tea bags in-room. This is a first for me. When I asked for tea bags for the room, the gracious desk clerk acknowledged that there wasn't usually tea in the room, but she'd try to find some. Another employee (a supervisor?) came from the side and started firmly telling me to buy tea at the coffee shop if I wanted a cup of tea. I asked why coffee drinkers weren't instructed to buy coffee , and she went on about how good the tea was at the coffee shop. I made a simple request for tea bags in the room each morning as I walked by the desk, with no result. On my final day, the original desk clerk was on duty, remembered the tea, and asked if I had got tea. Sadly, I reported that Marriott apparently had a NO TEA policy for in-room use. I need to remember to bring my own tea bags to Marriott in the future. This is so out of step with the times, and with every other hotel i've ever stayed out with an in-room coffeemaker. At least have a teabag behind the counter at the desk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Crozet, VA

Excellent

Posted Jan 29, 2018
Pros: Staff, clean room, location
Cons: I like it when the room has a book hotel info i.e.. pool, fitness room hours and locations, restaurant info. Maybe ours was just missing
Location: Chrysler Hall, Waterside center, restaurants (219 and Brick Anchor were good).
The room was clean and very nice. The staff was very friendly from check in to check out. Helpful with questions. The Starbucks food area was prompt, polite, friendly and food was very good. Great location as well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 17, 2018 on Hotels