Ratings based on 647 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wells, Maine

Just what we needed!

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: All the hotel staff were wonderful.
Cons: Recliner chair?
Location: We weren't really on vacation. So we didn't do much.
Our son was coming back from deployment and even though he would come home to Maine for a visit, we wanted to be there when his ship came in. We would have liked to have a recliner chair in the room as my husband is going through chemo treatment. It really helps him sleep. But, I guess you can't have everything. We were very happy with our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

Not good enough for my mother (or me)

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Close to airport
Cons: Replace all rugs, beds, etc
Location: One night stay on my way somewhere else
Glad I only had one night. Bitten by bed bugs? I don't know but I will not return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta ga

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Great staff and good food. Will definitely stay again. Close to the airport and shopping outlets.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Two pools, good restaurant for breakfast

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: Telling guests to respect other guests in terms of late night/early morning noise levels. .
Location: Location is great.
It is not easy to find a good hotel in Norfolk. I've tried. But the Doubletree is one I will return to because it has an outdoor and indoor pool (I live to swim) and a good restaurant for breakfast (I live to eat a good breakfast). My only problem was being placed on the first floor, which is always a noisy place in any hotel. A lonely dog barking, folks talking loudly at 4 a.m. Yet the room was very clean, and all staff I encountered lovely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by E. Dellinger, Hotel Management
Dear Kit: We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay. We are happy you found your room clean and the staff welcoming. We apologize for the noisy guests on your floor; we hope to be able to put you on a higher floor the next time you visit. With hospitality, E. Dellinger
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbus, ohio

Nice

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Nice hotel, with decent amenities. Very disappointed that we were given a handicap room. Would have been nice if there was coffee in the lobby. Have good airport shuttle service. Good pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by E. Dellinger, Hotel Management
Dear Melissa: Thank you for being our guest. We apologize that the only room type available upon your arrival was an accessible room. We have been extremely busy this season making if sometimes difficult to get the room type you'd like if we are capacity and a guest already in house decides to extend their stay. We hope this incident will not prevent you from staying with us in the future. Sincerely, E. Dellinger
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

The great cookie hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Its a cool place to stay.
Location: Close to food away from the boardwalk. Close to gas and Veterans Highway. Close to major highways in case you want to travel.
When you arrive you are welcomed with warm cookies. This is the place to stay if you are having a family reunion in VA beach. Far enough from the beach to enjoy the drive. Pools are nice. Breakfast area is also nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by E. Dellinger, Hotel Management
Dear JK, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our location and amenities to your liking. We thank you for your business and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again should you decide to hold your event in Hampton Roads. Sincerely, E. Dellinger
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2017
first of all we stayed five days the first night we were given the wrong room and were told there was nothing they could do till morning. The next room was right above the pool and a serious smell of chlorine came through air vent. the following night it being the weekend loud noise through the hallway all night and the slamming of doors all through the night morning time the same. air conditioner seems to stop working around 12 p.m we do not recommend this hotel at all!!!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by edellinger, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Service Excellence is a key focus to building and maintaining our customer base and we thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and share your concerns with us. I understand your frustration and I apologize for falling short on our high service standards. While we do our best to always deliver a smooth experience, occasionally mistakes happen. Your voice is critical to acting on our areas of opportunity and I appreciate you sharing your experience with us. With hospitality, E. Dellinger
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange county, California

Old rusty smelling hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2017
The Doubletree Hotel smelled like old rusty buildings with dirty carpets. Room service trays were on the floor for several days& never picked up & indoor trash cans next to ice machines & outside lobby area were overflowing. Dresser drawer would not stay shut. The refrigerator in your room is a "cooler". The hot water in the shower never stayed hot for more than 10 minutes no matter what time day or night. The Jacuzzi was broken, and no indication on when it would be repaired.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by E. Dellinger, Hotel Management
Dear K.C.: Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. Based upon your review, we are actively working with our team to resolve the issues you mentioned so that future guests are not inconvenienced as you were. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the area, you’ll afford us another opportunity to be of service. Warmest Regards, E. Dellinger
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stinky room deodorizer and broken iron

Posted Jul 20, 2017
The hotel staff (front desk and housekeeping) were attentive and efficient, but there was an overbearing, artificial air freshener odor in the room and the iron was broken.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by E. Dellinger, Hotel Management
Dear Lillian: We appreciate your business and apologize for falling short of our service standards. Your comment regarding the air freshener has been shared with our Executive Housekeeper, some guests are more sensitive to certain smells than others and it definitely something to consider. I also apologize that the iron was broken in your room. I'll attempt to locate the room by your first name and we'll have it replaced. We thank you for your business and hope to have you as a guest in the near future. Warmest Regards, E. Dellinger
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017
Thank you for being our guest. We will work hard to improve and earn a minimum of a four star rating on your next visit. We look forward to being of service when you return to the area. E. Dellinger