Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mollie from Downham Market

Brebkfast problem.

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
The staff were helpful and the room comfortable. But I ordered breakfast for 7am as a taxi was due at 7.30. I had to chase it up, and it arrived at 7.20, with little time to eat it.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

cold rooms, spiders in room, bad attitude locals

Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Hotels
cold rooms evenings and nights, and morning mega freeze, tight on heating, people have attitude around the area, small spiders in corner of room, food rubbish on offer in the evenings, beds not comfortable, mattresses needs changing, reception have attitude problem, please go and enjoy for yourself.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Oaklands stay

Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was average but maybe it will improve when the refurbishment is finished & the suites are also in need of a makeover
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by susan from southminster

Posted Aug 2, 2015 on Hotels
fantastic holiday and hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Hotels
clean room,comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Diane from Royston, Hertfordshire

May visit to the Oaklands

Posted Jun 23, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay. Staff were excellent, very accomodating. Service in restaurant and food were excellent. They were very good dealing with my gluten allergy. The outside space was really good and the staff put on heaters for us without us having to ask. Great service. Excellent value for money and would use again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michael from peterborough

Bad business trip experience

Posted Jun 14, 2015 on Hotels
Checked into restaurant ordered meal 1 hour later told computer problems and no food ordered, no waitress came to see me in that time and when complained i was told they could send food to my room at some stage but it was very late. when asked to speak to manager i was told the owner was 75 and wluld not reply to any complaints i was not happy at all just went back to room with a coke and packet of crisps for my dinner after being on the road must of the day i felt this was terrible service no one was at all bothered. i would not recommend this hotel and will never stay here again other travellers be aware very poor service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from norfolk

Good Weekend

Posted May 23, 2015
Have stayed here many times and this time we invited friends to stay at the hotel too, they loved it. Our only niggles are that our breakfast tray was not taken when the room was cleaned but it had clearly been moved as tea and coffee was spilt. When ordering breakfast in the room for two people they seem to struggle with portions 1 glass of juice, 1 bowl of fruit, 1 croissant but we did get two slices of toast lol. Apart from that blip lovely stay snd will definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Michael from Los Gigantes, Tenerife

The Hotel I grew up with in Norwich

Posted May 20, 2015 on Hotels
All staff, with the exception of two female bar staff, were friendly, helpful and very personable to the visiting guests. The new styled reception, bar and reception were bright, airy, practical and tastefully decorated as well as being very functional. We were given room 15, which we queried latter, as to a "Classical Room title. (It was apparently) The room was over the kitchens, noisy from 6.30am. Beside the staircase to staff quarters. Very tiered and seriously overdue for redecoration/refurbishment. The bed was extremely comfortable, thank goodness. The bathroom, as bedroom, was well below par. The taps had good pressure and temperature compared with the shower which was of a pressure just exceeding "bubble blowing." There were significant gaps between floor tiles and between bath and wall tiles. Furniture was clean. All windows in room and bathroom were cast iron, rusting and ill fitting. Thank goodness our visit was not in winter. Would my wife and I stay again? Not without assurance that accommodation was considerably improved.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

needs refurbishment

Posted Apr 29, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel has recently had its main areas refurbished. However that isn't true of the rooms, the bad was uncomfortable and felt like something from the pound shop. Wall paper was peeling off the walls, the shower was barely able to function and the weddings were noisy till the late hours. Additionally I was able to hear another guest snoring. Breakfast was good.