Ratings based on 317 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Quiet and comfortable rooms. The staff wer polite and helpful. And the location near airport was convenient
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Temple, Texas

Very disappointed in Residence Inn

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I won't leave a very long review. My family and I were truly disappointed in the condition of this hotel. We stayed here in late July 2017. Our initial room had a shower that did not work and a bedroom door that would not lock. I believe the front team member's name was Aaliyah that was very kind to us. She worked the day shift and was very professional and personable. Aaliyah's professional demeanor is the sole reason that I gave 4 stars for the staff review above. There was also a nice older woman on the evening shift and a kindly gentleman that was in charge of giving extra linens in the evenings. My recommendation is that the other staff members would really benefit from customer service and interpersonal skills training, as they left a great deal to be desired. Unfortunately, I would not in good faith recommend this hotel to anyone. We will not be returning. Thank you for reading this review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice Hotel. This is 15-17 minutes away from beach.

Posted Jul 19, 2017
We stayed for few days and were very pleased with the hotel service and location. Breakfast was good, service was little slow. Only issue was the plane noise because this hotel is close to airport. Hotel is close to movie theatre, new Norfolk Outlet mall and all food places are close by. Will definitely recommend and stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Poor management

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: Improved management
Location: Great location
Prior to arrival, I spoke to Michelle in Sales and was told that all room types had ovens. Once I arrived, I found out that was NOT the case. Only studio and two bedroom suites have ovens. This was disappointing, but then management stated there were no 2 bedroom suites available. In addition, I thought I was told that if a one bedroom suite with two queen beds was available, I could switch only to be told that because i booked through Expedia that was not possible. Next, we requested extra towels at 4:30 pm, and the towels didn't arrive. We had to go get towels AND blankets and sheets for the pull out sofa. We also were supposed to have a roller bed, and that did not show up until after multiple requests at 9:00 pm! This was completely unacceptable service. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was okay, expensive for what you get

Posted Jun 28, 2017
We reserved a room months in advance and had late arrival, were put in a handicap room with open shower and no tub as there were no other rooms available. Lots of creaks in our room, some aging.
5 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Richard

Not Happy In Norfolk

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
We noted in our two night reservation late arrival. I called 48 hours prior to confirm late arrival. I called at 6PM the day of to remind that we would arrive between midnight and 1 AM. I was told no problem, the reservation is noted. We arrived about 12:40 AM and were told they were overbooked and we would be sent across town to another hotel although other customers arrived at the same time and were given rooms. We had booked this hotel because of high ratings and convenience to our family which was the reason for the visit. To be 15 minutes across town was very inconvenient. The hotel we were sent to was nice, but in the middle of a major construction zone, which caused their ratings to be low. At 5 AM trucks started loading and unloading construction materials in the lot next to the hotel. I wrote Marriott Customer Relations and was told the hotel "Executive Staff" would be in contact in three or four business days. After not hearing I wrote Customer Relations again and did finally hear back. They addressed me by my email address and not my name and gave a very weak apology. I am attaching a photo of the view from the hotel we were sent to. Since we never got past the lobby I could only give an accurate rating to service and overall.
1 out of 5
by Howard

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
Waited almost 2 hrs at the airport for hotel shuttle even after repeated promises that the shuttle was only 10 mins away. Finally paid for a taxi to the hotel. Hotel personnel said sorry shuttle was held up. no other explanation. Worst initial experience to a hotel ever.
5 out of 5
by Renato

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was great super good price
5 out of 5
by Hae Yuon

Convenient to ORF

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Perfectly convenient for easy access to the airport.