Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Nama from London (Frida the cat) they will understand

Excellent Stay

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
I really enjoyed my stay, Mary and Ray are excellent host. Taunton Guess house has special personal touch that makes you feel at home when you are away from home. The scamble eggs are brilliant breakfast is really good. Walking distance to shops and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Lovely B&B with welcoming friendly hosts

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Comfortable bed, clean room, lovely hosts.
Cons: Just a minor gripe, I would have liked better bread for toast in the mornings, but otherwise the breakfast was beautifully cooked.
Location: Tea room next to the miniature village does fantastic food and cream teas, a visit to eat there is a must as is the best fish&chips HMS Hinchinbrook.
Very clean and newly decorated room, comfortable bed, located within walking distance of all attractions, would highly recommend a stay here.
5 out of 5
by Hannah from Peterborough

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
The owners are very polite and friendly, very welcoming. The room was clean and good size. the location was great
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Easter weekend break

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Taunton House was ideally placed close to the sea front. Mary and Ray were very friendly and welcoming offering tips to local amenities.will definitely recommend to family and friends and would definitely book here again if we're ever in Great Yarmouth again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old house transformed into a guest house.

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Cons: refurbish all
Terrible layout for being an ensuite. The Sink is in the bedroom where you sleep, the shower room is separated from the bedroom with a curtain. The toilet is a very very tiny room within the bedroom.
5 out of 5
by Lisa from Thetford

Lovely stay

Posted Nov 21, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely stay at Taunton house, one rule and that was to relax and we sure did. Very friendly and nothing was too much. Breakfasts delicious. Thank you
5 out of 5
by julie from Manchester

A little gem.

Posted Oct 30, 2015 on Hotels
We had a great stay at taunton grange, Mary and Ray are a lovely couple, who made us most welcome. Our room was very good, very clean and nice modern touches. Breakfast was excellent, and nothing was too much trouble.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic guest house

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed while working on the offshore wind turbines, it's a lovely little guest house and Mary and Ray are lovely. I couldn't be happier with my stay and I won't hesitate to stay again when I am working in Great Yarmouth next year. Thank you
4 out of 5
by James

Friendly clean hotel recommended

Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Hotels
The couple were very friendly, room clean, comfy bed, very basic facilities and no shampoo or shower gel provided. Breakfast was good but 8:30-9 am breakfast serving is a bit early for people on holiday.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

No cold water in the shower nor wi-fi connection

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: the location and the staff.
Cons: get cold water in the shower would be nice, wi-fi connection, some shampoo and shower gel, new TV, coffee/tea, orange juice.
Location: near to the beach, 10/15 min walking to the city centre
No cold water in the shower nor wi-fi connection (or connection extremely slow). Breakfast disappointing as first day we had only jelly not real marmalade. Second day we got it but was disgusting so we missed the jelly. Coffee/tea awful and my psychologist suggested me don't mention the orange juice as I still have nightmares. Tiny TV. The worst part was the cold water as we couldn't have a proper shower. I have to say the staff gave us a verbal invitation for a weekend in off-peak season, but who would like to come back after that experience? sorry not me. Also there isn't shower gel nor shampoo.