Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: The bed was comfortable and breakfast was very good. Also staff at breakfast were very pleasant. The location is excellent.
Cons: The design of the bedroom and bathroom to be more functional. See above.
Location: Some rooms have sea view. 2 minute walk to cliffs or 3-4 minute to beach.
We stayed 3 nights (pre-booked). My overall impression is that the room was designed to look lovely on arrival (it does), but lacks a lot of functionality when you try to live in it! There was only one chair in a double room and very short of surfaces to put things on. Sitting on the bed is not comfortable or necessarily good for the posture. There wasn't even a collapsible luggage rack so we were living out of suitcase on the floor! There was plenty of floor area for an additional chair, table and luggage rack. The wardrobe door banged against the room door restrainer and vice versa. Similarly storage space was an issue in the bathroom and the pull string light by the basin was a joke in terms of additional light - made the shelf look pretty though! Lighting by the mirrors in the room and the bathroom was inadequate and one-sided for putting makeup on. The shower gel was not replaced at room service until we asked for more. However, bed was comfortable and breakfast was very good. The location is excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: We liked the outside terrace and the general relaxed feel about the place. We also appreciated the welcome when we arrived at reception.
Cons: Breakfast staff, no one around, no greeting.
Room was well appointed. Sea view. It was a very hot weekend and it was a bonus to have a large electric fan in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Sarah Knowles, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. I will pass valued comments regarding your experience at breakfast over to the Manager.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Essex

Hotel in a good position, very close to beach.

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness. Bed was comfortable and bathroom very nice.
Cons: Parking, maybe reserved for hotel guests? Space in room, as we had no space to put anything, dressing table, suitcases etc.
Location: Beach and paddling pool great for children and adults. Lots of nice places to eat. Great ice cream from beachside kiosks.
Took my granddaughters for special weekend away. A little disappointed that the room, although advertised as a luxury double family room, was a double with a double bed and two camp beds which didn't leave us much room to move around. However it was clean and the bathroom was lovely and modern. Parking is very difficult as car park is usable by the public and people coming to drink on the terrace which necessitates parking along the roads nearby. The bar and terrace were always busy which gives a nice vibe. It seems to be very popular as there seems to be something going on all the time. All in all we enjoyed our visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Sarah Knowles, Hotel Management
Thank you for your valued review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments on regarding the difficulties in parking to the Manager. We hope you will come see us again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Nice friendly hotel

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Minor oversights such as one tissue only left in box and a used shower soap bottle. Could have been more diligent and avoided.
Location: Beach and free parking nearby.
Only booked one night before moving on to Warners. On arrival greeting was friendly. Room clean. Food nice. Ample free parking on site and near to the beach. Would highly recommend. Stayed last year and this year and it will not be the last time.you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Sarah Knowles, Hotel Management
Thank you for your valued review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments on to the Head Housekeeper. We hope you will come see us again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southend

Good hotel near fab beach

Posted May 13, 2017
We like using this hotel when visiting friends in the town but was really impressed with the friendly and efficient staff this visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Sarah Knowles, Hotel Management
Thank you for your valued review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will come see us again!
5 out of 5
by Martin

Pleasant stay

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, a mixture of business and holiday guests. Wonderful sea views from a covered terrace. Food freshly cooked. Breakfast cooked to order non of the it's been kept warm for an hour. Rooms to a high standard for 3 star.
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

A hotel of two halves

Posted Mar 13, 2017
The public areas are well presented but the rooms are not up to the same standard. Cheap accessories in the bathroom, curtains damaged and a tiny wardrobe really didn't live up to the 'deluxe room' booked. Breakfast on Sunday was disappointing. No late option (most hotels have later times at weekends) and no veggie options for the cooked breakfast. Overpriced for food and drinks. Only positive was location and comfy bed.
5 out of 5
by Beryl

convenient and friendly

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
very friendly helpful staff. Great restaurant with lovely food choice
5 out of 5
by Mary

Posted Feb 25, 2017 on Hotels
they could not have been more helpful - great hotel