Ratings based on 313 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Location: Free cathedral tour, excellent shopping and bars.
Excellent location in heart of Norwich with benefit of free parking. Rooms comfortable and clean. Great breakfast and helpful staff. We ate in the restaurant and food of a high standard. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Ideally located for exploring the City Centre...

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Staff service and attentiveness.
Cons: Can be noisy through window in bedrooms located near areas where smokers congregate...
Location: Five minutes walk into the city. Cathedral on the doorstep. River 10 mins away.
Standard double bedroom in the newer part of the hotel. No view, but room was perfectly acceptable and clean and comfortable. Very attentive staff. Loaned umbrella (brand new) for entire weekend. Breakfast is superb. Lots of choice and well cooked. A traditional hotel with traditional values...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely and comfortable

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Lovely staff who took genuine interest in us visiting.
Cons: Iron was in need of a clean
Location: Great location - two mins from shops, restaurants, etc. on-site parking too which was great.
Booked hotel for a wedding nearby. Spacious, clean - great bath and shower. Loved the hotel decor - though our room was quite modern.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
I have stayed here many times. It's a great hotel. Good facilities well located and staff are always friendly
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Generally pretty good. Room had very slow drain. Hotel said they were aware of, but unable to fix.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Beautiful, clean and spacious hotel.

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: My fabulous room
Cons: Eggs benedict was not up to scratch. Given that the food served at dinner was so amazing it must have been an entirely different chef for breakfast.
Location: It was a short stay ans the room was so nice that I didn't bother to leave it much. But it is very well located.
Staff were lovely from start to finish, friendly yet very professional. Dinner in the restaurant was very good. Breakfast was OK.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

City centre hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Convenient and Free parking.
Cons: Wifi in the rooms is not very fast.
Location: Right beside the cathedral. Restaurants and shops within easy walking distance.
Ideal for a few days' stay in Norwich. Staff were all very polite and helpful. We only ate breakfast in the hotel which was good with a wide range of food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Merseyside

Stay spoiled by renovation work

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Hotel is being modernised so will be much better in te future. However communcations could be improved.
Stayed 2 nights at hotel. When we arrived renovations had just started on the main reception area. We weren't aware of them. The staff were very apologetic and said they had left voicemail for us. We didn't receive any advance notification. Staff also said the website had details of the work. It didn't. This is a very old hotel with many nooks and crannies which I wouldn't recommend if you have problems with walking/climbing stairs. Having said all this we did enjoy our stay and would probably come back when the renovations and room modernisations are complete.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cardiff

Close to city centre and atractions

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Central position and free car parking
Location: The hotel is next to the cathedral and also near many bars and restaurants.
Room really did need air conditioning. Room was quite small and Windows only opened a tiny amount, really insufficient especially at night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Ein Hotel mit historischem Charme, schön das es noch sowas gibt.