Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Mid- Norfolk

Nice hotel close to the North Norfolk Coast.

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: It is very close to the North Norfolk Coast and so ideal for walkers an birdwatchers.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The service was excellent. The food in the restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. Drink prices were reasonable. Breakfast was good value and set us up for the day. We liked the room. Everything worked and the bed was really comfortable. Bed linen of good quality and the towels were very white and fluffy. The decor in the room was pleasant and we had everything we needed. We were on a last minute very short break - one night only, but we would be happy to return to The Nelson and would recommend it to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value for money

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Great value. Rooms are of a good standard. Staff are really helpful and food quality is good. Minot comment is the evening menu is very limited and the in room wifi either does not work or is intermittent, so if you need more reluable wifi you will need to go to the restaurant/bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Nice place to stay. Food very nice . Clean and well coming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Teesside

Well placed Inn for visits and attractions.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Location, food, and especially the friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Wifi and decor.
This was the second time we had stayed at the Nelson and overall we had a good time there. Some of the decor was tired, for example the external door. Also the Wifi reception was very poor and needs addressing. However, the staff were excellent and did all that they could to help in all eventualities. The food, (especially the full English breakfast, and porridge), was excellent. We also had one family dinner which was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value no need to fork out for the Hoste !

Posted May 31, 2016
Good staff and food efficient and friendly / room good but noisy and a bit cold
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from loughton essex

We had a fantastic stay.

Posted Oct 12, 2015
We had a fantastic stay at the Nelson. The room was lovely and the food at the restaurant was lovely. The staff were very friendly and professional. I left there totally relaxed and I will go back again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely location

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Cheaper alternative to the Hoste. Great location and very near to the village centre. Very nice staff but stay was spoilt by the very very small room. It really was the size of a small single room. I don't think this was reflected in the price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hertfordshire

Lovely spacious room, walking distance to town

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Stayed for one night to visit friends, so although not in room much, it was a great experience. Room was all set up for my 3 year old on sofa bed & still plenty of room & very child friendly. Staff were attentive, friendly & served a lovely breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire

good location to town

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: beds
level of comfort poor due to beds that leave a lot to be desired and are in our opinion past there best
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buckhurst Hill, Essex

Nice Hotel very close to main village.

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was good and lovely staff in particular Christine for conversation.
Cons: The main door to rooms 5,6&7 did not shut properly, so needed to be pulled slam shut, the loud plumbing noises coming from other rooms unavoidable.
Location: Visited Holt and Sandringham, steam train ride a must for families. Beautiful beaches.
Burnham Market is a lovely village and should be seen. On our first night at the Nelson, my family and I decided to dine there. My father and I chose the Rib-eye steak, unfortunately if was not a good cut of beef, very tough and the staff were in agreement. I decided to finish it (stronger teeth) but my father who is over 80 ask for another dish, he opted for the Lasagne, however when we received the bill they had charged for the steak £17.95 and not the £11.95 for the Lasagne. My father queried this, but was told it was company policy, so he bit his tongue and settled the bill, whatever happened to the term, the customer is always right!