Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very enjoyable stay

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Warm welcome & food was particular good
Cons: Stairs to bedroom might be an issue for older travellers. This could have been made clearer at time of booking.
Comfortable accommodation in quiet and very pleasant location with easy bus access to Norwich city centre. Warm welcome and very attentive and helpful staff. Excellent food served in small restaurant . All in all a very good experience at the Old Rectory. Would return should we venture that way again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Beautiful building, set in lovely grounds. Our room was a very good size and the bathroom was an excellent size with a separate shower. Breakfast was really worth getting up for! Plenty to choose from and the cooked breakfast was particularly good. The highlight was the evening meal which was superb; freshly cooked, delicious food, a really high standard. The staff were lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very pleasant hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Having aperitifs served in the drawing room felt special.
Cons: If you drive a large car the hotel's narrow gate posts will be a tight squeeze.
The hotel's setting, the staff and the dining are all of a very good standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: a good relaxing and clean full of comfort.
Cons: nothing
Location: the location is close to most central areas and the river, good walking around and close to other eating places.
the staff and the whole hotel was clean and bright and could not do enough to make sure you was catered for all the time. the beds the bathrooms just great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant Hotel well appointed for weekend break

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Position and size had a personal feel.
Cons: No
Location: Just outside Norwich. visited broads, Great Yarmouth and local national trust properties good places to eat local
Booked last minute greeted by owner felt welcomed and valued. Full English breakfast fresh and well cooked. Quiet relaxed atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location!!

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Very friendly staff. Perfect restaurant with some cracking food!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chelmsford

Superb restaurant with excellent rooms.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: The Old Rectory is such a lovely Georgian building set within beautiful grounds.
Cons: Because of the hot weather that we were fortunate to enjoy at the time of our stay then perhaps some air conditioning.
Location: Thorpe St. Andrew was very picturesque and the centre of Norwich with all of it's many facilities was only approximately 2 miles away.
My husband and I were so fortunate in selecting The Old Rectory to stay in when we were in Norwich recently for our Grandson's Christening, as it was an extremely nice experience. Grateful thanks to Chris, Sally and their staff. Sincerely, Martin and Julie
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from High Wycombe

Be a Country House Guest!

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: The room was comfortable and the restaurant excellent. A very welcoming hotel.
Cons: Very little, the owners have been resident for many years and many improvements made in that time.
Location: Parking is fine and to avoid problems parking in the city a bus stops potside the hotel and takes 10 minutes to the centre.
The warm welcome commenced imediately upon arrival, showing us to our room, explaining everything including the code for the excelent wifi, about dinner and breakfast and how to get to Norwich without taking the car. Our room in the coachouse was excellent as was the bathroom with a seperate rain shower and bath. An aperitif in the comfortable lounge before dinner is a civilised start to the evening and the two dinners that we had were both excellent, the main and desert courses to a star standard. The wine list is interesting and reasonably priced too. This is a very pleasant place to stay to explore Norwich and beyond.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Don't miss this place

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Beautiful building in a lovely town run by a great staff.
Cons: I wish we could have stayed longer!
Location: We had dinner with old friends a local pub called "The Reedcutter", but I wish we would have had the opportunity to dine in the Old Rectory.
If you are staying anywhere near Norwich and want to stay in a truly lovely B&B, then don't miss the Old Rectory!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from camberley, surrey

lovely place, lovely setting

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: looks, setting, food, people. all of it was good
Location: Norwich has loads to do and the Broads are close as well.
very welcoming, lovely place to stay. enjoyed it as everyone was nice and kind and polite