Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maidstone, Kent.

Quiet and friendly.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Did just what we wanted in every way.
Cons: All OK.
Location: Visiting family but I know there is lots to do in Norfolk.
We stayed for two nights and would certainly stay again. Accomodation, food and hostess excellent. Good parking facilites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Ideal for business trip

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Friendly host, clean room, comfortable bed, good shower, nice breakfast - ticked all the boxes
Cons: No negatives for me, all was good, No negatives for me, all was good
Location: Ideal for work in Norwich
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value, friendly owners and superb breakfast!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: A quiet Norfolk village, with a couple of pubs and takeaways. I didn't need a meal out but if you are looking for one research the local area.
I was staying for a local friends party so needed an overnight room and a good breakfast before a long journey the next day. This fitted the bill perfectly. I was met by the owner who was very friendly and showed me my room and the drink and lounge facilities. My cooked breakfast in the morning was excellent and there were good cereal and other options available too. Thoroughly recommend for an overnight stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The food was fantastic

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
The food was fantastic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016
A beautiful hotel with very friendly staff and lovely facilities
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canterbury, Kent

Quiet, friendly hotel in rural village.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The staff were all friendly and professional. A very comfortable, clean bed. Beautiful tubs of flowers outside.
Cons: The bathroom and carpets are all in need of refurbishment. Parts of the hotel exterior appeared shabby.
Location: The village is close to Norwich and Wymondham.
Friendly, professional check-in and welcome. Basic accommodation and a very limited breakfast menu, although what was on offer was good quality and cooked well. A pleasantly quiet Inn in a tranquil setting.
4 out of 5
by Tony from Birmingham

A friendly country pub/B&B. I visit regularly.

Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
First visit was a bit concerning as the pub was closed. I did find out that it does not open until 5pm (was on the website but I overlooked this as used to pubs being open all day.) If you will be arriving earlier that 5pm, they will accommodate you for this. Rooms are spotless with clean linen, plenty of towels and the shower was clean. The area is very remote so nights are very quiet (spookily so). Food is exquisite. I don't finish my appointments until fairly late but they will accommodate if you pre book your dinner. Plates are full and the food is wonderfully prepared. Good selection of ales in the bar (both on tap and bottled), a huge selection of malt whisky and gins are available. Family run pub and the staff are welcoming and friendly. I have stayed here on a few occassion recently and have already booked for my next 2 visits. The pub is remote so don't expect much in the area but with a good food and drink, you don't need to go anywhere.
5 out of 5
by Greg from Templecombe

A lovely place with a friendly feel.

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice establishment with a warm welcome. The evening food was fantastic, as was the breakfast. Would definitely stay again. Really nice people
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hidden Gem

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Nothing too much trouble, and as one has freedom to come and go at will, ideal for an overnight stay or longer. A 450 year old building with plenty o
Cons: Nothing really, it was as expected.
Location: Realtively easy access, we were visiting friends in Norwich so did not get to check our close vicinity, but it is a pleasant area.
We usually stay at "chain" hotels but all were fully booked due to Rod Stewart being in town. Found this via Expedia and very pleasantly surprised by experience. Arrived early (2.15pm and booking in time is 5pm) and although pub was closed, after a phone call were quickly shown our room and access. Had the last available room whihc was a twin en suite, but very comfortable. Potentially noisy if used for children as above the bar area, but this was a Saurday night and the bar was quiet after a reasonable hour.