Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Yorkshire

nice setting very close to the Broads

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Good situation. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast included in room rate
Cons: Better organisation
Location: Nice location although on a busy road. Good access to the Broads and the coast
Very friendly staff but hotel really needs a bit more organisation. For example, reception, bar and restaurant all together making check-in very long-winded as customers were being served at bar and waiting to be seated in restaurant. Food was excellent albeit rather pricey and the service the first night of our stay was extremely slow, so much so that we called for the manager who was full of apologies and gave us free drinks. The second night the service was much better. We stayed during a very hot week and although we don't expect air conditioning, the supply of a fan in the room would have been nice. The road is very busy but traffic noise not too much of a problem. We understand that the hotel is under new management and in the process of being updated and we would have no hesitation in staying there again if in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincoln UK

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Very good location with easy access, food very good
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worth a visit....and getting better

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
Relaxing stay to end a local holiday. Really served it's purpose. Hotel a funny mixture of very together and a bit confused......but it gave ita particular charm.....will certainly go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
good welcome- staff very attentive. hotel is under new management with the owner taking a good interest.
4 out of 5
by Greg from Sheffield

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
We had a marvelous week at this Inn. Recently bought & under family management, the hotel is undergoing extensive renovation, hence the lower mark for hotel quality. The room was comfortable & clean with a king size double bed. I'm 6'6" and it was more than large enough. The staff are friendly and the food delicious. A full English breakfast is a must. I certainly recommend a stay there & look forward to a return visit
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shame about the room

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed at this nearby Hotel for one night as our daughter had her 'eighteenth' party. Very friendly and helpful staff. Food was great;fish dishes were excellent,nice puddings,tremendous breakfast. Downside was the room! Very poor: Really small and smoky, smelling of paint from the corridor. The bed had an incline so we moved backwards during the night. Could only shower as the bath attachment didn't work. Litter on the floor from previous resident had been left! It was clear to us that the Hotel is being refurbished,(the ground floor looks fabulous). Staff seemed disorganised but very nice. Potentially, though, this could be a really nice hotel when finished.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff

Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for two nights whilst visiting friends. Nice spacious room with tea making faculties and television. Shower over bath was good but a little temperamental on setting correct heat. Plenty of hot water. Bed was comfortable, but not set up under the fixed side lamps but room looked as if it accommodates another single bed if required so may not have been reset! Breakfasts were lovely and we had one evening meal which was very good! I had the fish special salted Squid and my partner had the pie of the day Ham Chicken and Leek both very tasty. The staff were exceptionally good and very helpful and welcoming which was lovely. The only blip was that they charged us again for the accommodation but this has been sorted out promptly!
4 out of 5
by Colin from Swansea

problems with Hotel.com

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was fine my unhappiness is with Hotel .Com - my credit card details were used illegally after using my card with you- details of which I have passed to my bank. additionally I checked with the actual hotel and find they only had reservations for two rooms not the three - fortunately they had capacity and re-booked a third room for us. As such I don't think I will ever use the Hotel.com service again.
3 out of 5
by John from Scotland

Needs Refurbishment Urgently

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed two nights. Hotel is very old and tired and soon coming under new ownership I hope they quickly do some major refurbishment. WiFi only in bar not in rooms. Bar is tiled in white tiles like a public loo. Credit card payment system not working - hows that? Staff were very good and very friendly, I hope they stay on.
3 out of 5
by Alan from Maidstone

Posted Aug 2, 2015 on Hotels
Uncomfortable bed and dull decor supposed to be retro or shabby chic. Food very good though.