Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Queensland

Nice modern clean resort close to town

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: It was quiet. Very clean and well looked after. It is newer than a lot of others. It was well furnished and modern..
Cons: Don't know of any improvements.
Location: The location was excellent. About 150 metres to the township. Norfolk Island is only a small island and everything is a short distance away.
Cumberland Resort is a lovely place to stay. There are several styles and sizes of accommodation from 1 bedroom to I think a four bedroom unit. Everything is quite private. You don't really notice anyone else around. Tima was the lady who looked after us from picking us up from the airport to organising any tours. Nothing was too much trouble for her. She always had a smile on her face.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk Island

Best accomodation on the island!

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Wotif
Cumberland was in the perfect position for everything. The unit was amazing with I room spa. Very well equipped kitchen, very clean and excellent help from staff re booking anything. Breakfast basket was plentiful and car supplied as well! What else could you ask for?
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by Rael, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide this valuable feedback. We love it when our guests provide insight into what they loved and where we can improve the experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Nice layout and handy to other facilities

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Pros: Private room with private courtyard. Quiet peaceful establishment. Good facilities. The food starter pack was a nice and useful touch
Location: Handy location within easy walking distance to shops and eateries. All tours were collect and drop off from resort
Very friendly staff who collected us from the airport then took us on a brief tour followed by arranging a full island tour. Staff always greeted us with a smile and enquiry into our satisfaction.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Norfolk Holiday

Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: A little road noise in the front villa.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The Resort is very central and it is easy to explore the history and sights with the car provided (pay insurance only).
We have just returned from a relaxing 7 night holiday at Cumberland Resort and Spa. The managers Ghiselle and Julius welcomed us and made sure any requests were met. The resorts rooms are comfortable and well equipped.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Great stay in Norfolk Island

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Staff and extras
Cons: Nil
Location: Drives, views, relax.
This was a great venu. Central to the small town, great friendly staff and management. Excellent spar bath for relaxation at the end of a day's exploring. Cumberland the place to stay in Norfolk.
5 out of 5
by Susan from Australia - NSW - Regional NSW

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Friendly managers Ian and Lillian extras provided eg robes,picnic baskets,snorkelling gear nothing was too much trouble every request we made met
Cons: Nothing to report happy with everything at the resort.
Location: Perfect
Facilities: Home away from home; Value: Great deal; Service: Outstanding; Cleanliness: Spotless; Great restraurants both across the road and next door enjoyed having rental car as part of package and welcome basket of breakfast provisions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2014
We are so pleased you have taken the time to let other travellers know of your experience. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much.
5 out of 5
by Donna from Australia - QLD - Brisbane

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Friendliness of management, car hire included, robes, breakfast starter pack, king size beds, location to walk to restaurants.
Cons: Nothing I can think of
Location: Close to everything, Australia
Service: Go the extra mile, So friendly; Cleanliness: Spick and span;
5 out of 5
by SCOTT from Australia - NSW - Regional NSW

Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Location, great service
Cons: Expensive laundry- i think $5 per load is too much, min wifi could have also been provided
Location: Outstanding
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014
Thank you for rating your outstanding accommodation experience. Besides our quest for ecological conservation with limited island resources, the island has limited water supply (only tank water), exorbitant electrical costs, 4 times more expensive than Australia. We offer a convenient, affordable $15 complete same-day valet service, washed, folded, returned while enjoying your holiday. Excellent Wifi throughout the resort with free internet computer at reception for guests without devices.
4 out of 5
by Bradley

Posted Mar 19, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Location: Close to everything
Facilities: Typical; Value: Affordable; Service: Professional, Respectful, Friendly; Cleanliness: Pleasant;
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. You rated our facilities as typical. There is no other resort with a heated swim spa pool, onsite day spa, sauna, spa baths and massage showers, so we are a little surprised you would consider this to be typical. We are also the closest accommodation to all the attractions, so we appreciate you rating us favorably on this score. Thanks once again - we'd love to welcome you back. We appreciate your feedback as it keeps us on our toes.
5 out of 5
by Klaus

Posted Dec 18, 2013 on Wotif
Pros: Loved Norfolk and its people
Cons: None
Location: Nice and central
Service: Outstanding; Cleanliness: Pristine;