Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I expected

Posted Aug 2, 2013
Pros: The staff was very nice. The location was good. No better than any other hotel in the area.
Cons: Clean the rooms, and do some remodeling and updating.
Location: Good location and plenty of entertainment.
The staff was wonderful. Everyone was very polite and helpful. The hotel is right on the boardwalk. However, the room and facilities were less than optimal. The room was supposed to sleep 5. There were two beds that were called doubles. My husband and I are both small, and we barely fit in a bed. My mom, who is just as petite as I am, and my 5 year old, filled the other bed. My oldest son was left without anywhere to sleep. There was a small, 2 person table. There was supposed to be a sofa, which was not only non-existent, but there was nowhere for it to be anyway. The bathroom, which contained a toilet and a tub/shower combo, had just enough room to open the door. To close it, you had to sit on the toilet. The bath still had sand in the bottom of it from the last guests. There was also dirt and hairballs stuck in corners of the bathroom. The room smelled like a barn if you did not keep the balcony door open constantly. With the weather being hot and wet, this made the room very uncomfortable. I would not recommend this hotel for any more than 2 people, and make sure to bring you cleaning supplies as well. The fridge barely kept our few bottles of water cool. There was a hanging lamp right in the middle of the walkway out to the balcony. This room was sorely misrepresented, and made our stay quite a hassle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mindy from ohio

Great trip

Posted Jul 31, 2013
Cons: The rooms are a little older but still great!
The location was great, amazing beach view. The staff was so nice the door to the office was opened for us 90% of the time whether we was coming in or leaving. I think the price was great for the location. I will stay here again when I come back to Virginia!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sabina from Vienna, VA

Small & Charming

Posted Jul 24, 2013
Pros: Loved the ocean view from the balcony and room. Room was clean and fresh.
Cons: The access to the beach from the hotel is through a packed parking lot or through the pool area, which could use an upgrade! The hallways to the room
Location: Restaurants, stores are all very closeby, walking distance to most.
Check in was a breeze and the ocean view from the hotel room and balcony was a dream! So close to the beach, watching the sunrise was beautiful. Access to the beach from hotel through the parking lot or the pool area could be improved and overall upkeep of the outside of the hotel and the hallways could use a little paint. The hotel had a small town charm and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Claudia from Fairfax County

Ocean front view was breath taking.

Posted Jul 14, 2013
Pros: The appearance was cozy and comfortable.
Cons: The hotel restaurant employees needs improvement with manners. They were a bit unpleasant and not friendly.
Location: Shopping, fishing off the pier, Restaurants.
My stay was very relaxing not a lot of noise and the staff was impressive and delightful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by RAD

Wonderful hospitality and location

Posted Jul 9, 2013
Pros: The staff were extremely helpful in locating local attractions restaurants and other fun items for our children.
Cons: The bed was somewhat firmer than our taste but overall it was a very comfortable room.
Location: Being located north of the main strip, this hotel is accessible to many of the excellent family items without putting you into the commercial section
Our family stayed at the Belvedere several days before July 4. While the weather wasn't exactly accommodating the hotel staff certainly was. We enjoyed our smallish room that had an excellent view of the ocean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roman & Doris from Chertsey, QC J0K, Canada

A Pleasant Surprise

Posted Sep 10, 2012
Pros: Curtious front desk whomever i spoke with
Cons: Air Conditioning made rumbling sounds when compressor engaged but i have heard worse, so really not a big issue
Location: Location as I know it is almost at the beginning of the beach area, not a problem to find
After a long day of driving, the last thing you wanna come to is a messy hotel, well to our surprise as small as the hotel is, it is very neat. Parking at times is a chore to find, but very acceptable. The room we were in overlooks the ocean as were all the rooms I imagine. We had an issue with the sliding patio doors, we went to the front desk and Dave took care of it before i could wink an eye. Very nice indeed. The air conditioning was adequate but made humming noises when you want to sleep, but no big deal, i have seen worse, much worse. The beds were comfortable and the pillows were one of the best ones i have seen, very soft, fell asleep very quickly :) A nice touch was the bikes they give you for one hour if you wish, to tour the boardwalk area which is 3 miles i believe. A nice cafeteria complimented the stay with good meals in the morning with friendly service. Washrooms were very clean, everything worked just fine. All in all, we stayed 4 nights, very satisfied. Would I recommend the hotel to friends, without hesitiation. Great job Dave and the gang, you made our stay a very pleasant one, and we look forward to visiting you again next year. Thanks again ---
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tammy from Oakville, Ontario

Virginia Beach - 2012

Posted Jul 28, 2012
Pros: The hotel is right on the beach. Free bike rentals. Pool is very clean. Rooms are clean. All staff is friendly.
Cons: We would have liked our unit to be more like an like efficency unit. Needed coffee maker, toaster, stove. Laundry facilities would be nice.
Location: The location is at the top end of the beach - north. 36th street. The hotel is beach front All rooms have ocean front balcony.
We just got back from the Belvedere. The people that run it are very friendly and helpful. We only had one complaint - we would have liked the room to be more lilke an efficiency unit. It lacked a coffee maker, toaster, and an oven plus all the extras that go with an efficiency unit, We had a good trip and a good stay. i would say it gave us what we needed, but no extras. Just the basics. I would def. recommend The Belvedere to other people that are staying in Virginia Beach. .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lou from Harmony, PA, USA

Great beach. Great hotel.

Posted Jul 1, 2012
Pros: The staff were extremely helpful, attentive and polite.
Cons: Bathroom a bit small, but adequate.
Location: Right on Virginia Beach at the North End (our preference). Perfect.
We've stayed at quite a few beach hotels and most have been "ok." Belvedere, which we booked as a shot in the dark, was absolutely great. The room had a spectacular view. The staff were as nice as family members and everything was clean and neat. As with most beach hotels, the accommodations are not huge, but adequate for the 2 of us. The bathroom is quite tiny, but worked fine for us. The hotel provided free bicycles, which we used every day. Hotel wireless was a bit hit or miss, but again worked well enough. I've had much worse wifi experiences at much more expensive hotels. The TV had a fairly accurate color balance (something I'm obsessively picky about). The A/C worked perfectly (heat index around 100 degrees on 2 of the days). We will definitely book and stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by b162

wow

Posted May 29, 2012
Cons: no pool for little kids...4ft and up...
Location: The right location ...
The ocean view is the best .........and they have next door they have the coffe shop.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Lexington, VA

Cannot wait to go back

Posted Jul 6, 2011
The hotel is small, clean and right on the beach. The staff is amazing - helpful, cheerful, efficient and genuinely concerned for your wellbeing.