Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Good hotel in the heart of the city

Posted Feb 15, 2016
Pros: Location and quiet.
Cons: Breakfast. Just say continental, not hot breakfast which is what I read.
Location: Right off of downtown. Can walk to fast food restaurants, children's museum, and whatever shopping is in downtown Portsmouth.
This hotel was a pleasant stop on our brief trip. First, we were allowed to check in early (9AM), which was very nice of the manager. The room was okay. The microwave was missing the knob to change from defrost to cook, but since it was stuck on cook it was fine. The room appeared clean, and the bathroom was clean, but some fixtures, such as the tissue holder and toilet paper holder were rusty maybe from being close to the water. The bed was comfortable. The location was good for me; as a city dweller I like the idea of walking to downtown, or the Starbucks and other fast food restaurants across the street, but the hotel was tucked away enough that it was not noisy. The only slight negative I have is the breakfast. It consisted of some round egg things and make your own waffles. I expected a bit more than this for hot breakfast. However, they did have fruit, oatmeal cups, cereal, bagels, bread, and muffins, so there was a variety. All employees greeted us and asked if we needed anything during our stay.
4 out of 5
by Leslie from Elizabeth City, Nc

Comfy, cozy

Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel. Only problem was it rained while we were at dinner and the roads were flooded and couldn't get into the hotel entrance but went through the Starbucks lot.
5 out of 5
by Linwood

Okkk

Posted Dec 29, 2015 on Hotels
Everything was nice jus couldn't get internet to work
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel convenient for Portsmouth VA

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Pleasant helpful staff. Clean comfortable room. Close to Portsmouth Old Town. Easy access and parking. Reasonable free breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Jennifer J from Shenandoah Valley

Glad I chose it

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice suite for price of standard room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good solid comfort

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: Felt welcome. Nice walks into Portsmouth Old Town. Plenty of cafes/restaurants nearby. Quiet location.
Cons: Maybe breakfast?
Upgrade to suite, very well presented. Good level of facilities, pleasant, helpful staff. Convenient for Naval Hospital and Portsmouth Old Town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Nice upgrade to suite. Friendly staff. Nice location on edge of old town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location next to Portsmouth Naval Hospital. T

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: close to the hospital
Cons: Expedia could ask in their online application if the traveler has any special needs
We booked this room on Expedia. I had a surgical boot on my leg and was using a walker. I requested a first floor room but was told because I booked through a third party they had no control over which room I got. The room was on the third floor, and was filthy. the bathroom reeked of urine and the carpet badly needed shampooing. The AC struggled to maintain a cool room, the hair dryer was falling off the wall and the switch on the tub faucet to switch from tub to shower was frozen in place halfway between so the shower barely put out any water. In short room maintenance. was not being done. I would not recommend this hotel to a friend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty, broken hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2015
There seems to be little upkeep or pride in the hotel. In the stairway, there were piles of old lamps in the corner. In the hallways, they had stacked old tables. The room seemed to be not cleaned. I found old toothpaste containers on the shelves and coffee grounds all over the counter. There were no complimentary shampoo or soap in the bathroom. The only good things about this hotel was the location and the bed was comfortable. I would not recommend this place to anyone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winchester, Virginia

This hotel is just OK.

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: See above.
Cons: Cleaner rooms.
Location: See above
Hotel staff were very accommodating and pleasant; however, room could have been cleaner. The location is good for old town Portsmouth, and it is close enough to run to the beach. Would possibly stay here again, as the price was good.