Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by James

Nice staff and clean room.

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
I went down for 2 days at Christmas to visit my so in the navy so I didn't do to much exploring the area to much at this time. The room was nice and clean. The area was quiet at night. Plenty of fast food and sit down restaurants in the area. If our son doesn't come home in April, we will go down Memorial Day weekend and stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gaithersburg, Maryland

Comfort Inn: It was very comfortable!

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: It was convenient to the places I needed to visit. The staff members were pleasant and accommodating.
Cons: The eggs offered for breakfast looked/ tasted like those you find in a play kitchen. The pastries were dry/ stale. The toilet seats buckles if sat on!
Location: The location was conveniently located near places to eat (my favorite being Starbucks)...as well as, several museums.
I enjoyed my stay. The things that could be improved on were off set by the friendliness and service of the staff. The room was, for the most part, pleasant. The nightly rate was economical. When I am in the area I will consider staying again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Fine for a bed and a shower - quick turnaround for business trips!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfort Inn Corporate Needs to Wake Up

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was passable.
In the last week I have stayed in a Comfort Inn in Portsmouth, Va. and in Savannah, Ga. My wife and I decided it will be the last. The owners of both properties should take a hard look at how they are managing their assets. In both locations the public areas were not clean and the rooms were the same. Soil spots on carpets, bedspreads, furniture. A bath towel that had two holes in it and so rough you could definitely exfoliate while drying off. Many indicators that housekeeping was not maintaining proper levels of cleanliness.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean; and cleaning crews were early and prompt.

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Met my goal locally
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Good hotel in the heart of the city

Posted Feb 15, 2016
Pros: Location and quiet.
Cons: Breakfast. Just say continental, not hot breakfast which is what I read.
Location: Right off of downtown. Can walk to fast food restaurants, children's museum, and whatever shopping is in downtown Portsmouth.
This hotel was a pleasant stop on our brief trip. First, we were allowed to check in early (9AM), which was very nice of the manager. The room was okay. The microwave was missing the knob to change from defrost to cook, but since it was stuck on cook it was fine. The room appeared clean, and the bathroom was clean, but some fixtures, such as the tissue holder and toilet paper holder were rusty maybe from being close to the water. The bed was comfortable. The location was good for me; as a city dweller I like the idea of walking to downtown, or the Starbucks and other fast food restaurants across the street, but the hotel was tucked away enough that it was not noisy. The only slight negative I have is the breakfast. It consisted of some round egg things and make your own waffles. I expected a bit more than this for hot breakfast. However, they did have fruit, oatmeal cups, cereal, bagels, bread, and muffins, so there was a variety. All employees greeted us and asked if we needed anything during our stay.
4 out of 5
by Leslie from Elizabeth City, Nc

Comfy, cozy

Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel. Only problem was it rained while we were at dinner and the roads were flooded and couldn't get into the hotel entrance but went through the Starbucks lot.