Ratings based on 1,146 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Galena, United States of America

Pleasantly Surprised

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Booked this place on a fluke. The price seemed too good to be true through Expedia. The place is old but very clean. Excellent old world charm and the staff is sincere in making sure your stay is the best. I called ahead to say we would be a late check in and asked if they had distilled water I needed for a C-pap machine because you can't fly with liquids. They had a jug waiting in our room!! Who else does that?
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Stephen , Hotel Management
Hello Victoria, Thank you for writing a review for our hotel! We are delighted to see you were happy about the liquid in your room when you arrived. We really appreciate your kind words. I will pass this along to the rest of the team. We hope to see you again in the future. Stephen Milham Revenue Manger
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, United States of America

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Beautiful hotel. Cozy. Elegant. Near to where I was going.great restaurant. Family liked it. Drinks in the Hunt Room helps to calm down before bedtime.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Stephen , Hotel Management
Hello Victor, Thank you for writing a review for our hotel! We really appreciate the nice words about the hotel! We hope to see you again in the future. Stephen Milham Revenue Manger
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Update is needed

Posted Nov 18, 2016
The room was clean, but dingey and outdated looking. Staff was amazing and accommodating to any request I had. Furniture had stains on it, but the bed was comfy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by Stephen , Hotel Management
Hello Raymond, Thank you for writing a review for our hotel! We are glad to hear that the room was clean and the staff was amazing during your stay. We hope to see you again in the future. Stephen Milham Revenue Manger
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Very pretty grounds, clean and cute rooms and decor
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by Stephen , Hotel Management
Hello Justin, Thank you for writing a review for our hotel! We are glad you liked the resort grounds and the décor. We try and make everything as clean and nice as much as possible. We hope to see you again in the future while traveling back to the area. Stephen Milham Revenue Manger
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Everything about my experience there was fabulous!! Would highly recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by Stephen , Hotel Management
Hello Wendy, Thank you for writing a review for our hotel! We are delighted to see that your experience with us was fabulous and that you would highly recommend us. that truly means a lot to us for people to say that. I will pass this along to the rest of the team. We hope to see you again in the future. Stephen Milham Revenue Manger
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect Getaway

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Im real picky when it comes to room cleanliness. The room was spotless and the bed and bedding were perfect. The Grounds were beautiful and restaurants on site were fantastic. Will definitely come back and visit and hopefully try out the SPA next time...
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by Stephen , Hotel Management
Hello Wai Gei, Thank you for writing a review for our hotel! We are happy to see that the rooms at the hotel were spotless and everything went swimmingly during your stay. Our two restaurants on property try very hard to make the best food in the area, so I will pass these comments on to them. Have a great day Stephen Milham Revenue Manger
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful colonial setting

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Founder Inn is a beautiful facility with great amenities and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by Stephen , Hotel Management
Hello Blayne, Thank you for writing a review for our hotel! We are happy to see that our grounds and amenities were great during your stay. At the Founders Inn and Spa, we strive for the best guest experience possible. Have a great day. Stephen Milham Revenue Manger
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Beautiful Hotel and excellent service. Would recommend to anyone!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by Stephen , Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for writing a review for our hotel! We are glad that you thought our hotel was beautiful and that the Founders Inn and Spa had excellent service. We hope to see you again in the future. Stephen Milham Revenue Manger
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Don't show up in the dark

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Signage is terrible; parking lot is so dark you cannot find your way around. There are no signs telling you where the main lobby is at. After you find the lobby; nothing telling you where the room is. The staff is very friendly and helpful although they speak to you as though you know the facility and how to get around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by Stephen , Hotel Management
Hello Bob, Thank you for writing a review for our hotel! We are glad to see that our staff was very friendly and helpful. I will let our team know about the signage in the dark. You have a good point about that. This is something we will look into Stephen Milham Revenue Manger
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hagerstown, MD

Fantastic Staff

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Friendliness of staff
Cons: Served us lukewarm coffee at dinner
Location: There is a fantastic Filipino restaurant and Greek Restaurant nearby. There's also good shopping.
We caught the tail end of Hurricane Matthew and were without electricity for our last night. However, the staff did a wonderful job of keeping us updated and safe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by Stephen , Hotel Management
Hello JP, Thank you for writing a review for our hotel! We are glad you came to the hotel even though the storm scared a lot of people away for that weekend. We try and train our staff to handle these situations in a calm and collected manner. So I am pleased to see that we did a good job with updating you. Stephen Milham Revenue Manger