Ratings based on 1,199 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful quick vacation.

Posted May 26, 2017
I had a great time. Staff was great. Pool needed to be cleaned, but I loved this hotel and deff would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Outer Banks, NC

Great Deal!

Posted May 26, 2017
This hotel is the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at. The staff is friendly, the rooms are beautiful and it's even better when you're an Expedia +VIP Gold member with the free room upgrades, Early & Late Check-In/Out, 20% off on food & 15% off spa treatments. The gardens and pool area were beautiful. This is overall a 5-Star hotel. There's literally not ONE thing to complain about!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay

Posted May 20, 2017
I really liked the 3 nights I stayed at the Founders Inn and Spa. Request a room overlooking the gardens!!:). Cozy bed, cute room, beautiful view of the rose gardens. Ahhh.. they have a real swan that swims in the lake by the gardens. The Swan Terrace is the where u can have breakfast, lunch and dinner. Classy atmosphere. You can sit outside too really nice!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Stephen , Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for writing a review for our hotel! We really appreciate your kind words about the hotel. Abby, our swan, loves people. Some guests take pictures with her for memories. Have a great day. Stephen Milham Revenue Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything You Would Ever Need Except...

Posted May 19, 2017
The room was great, only lacked a bathtub... The room was clean, the hotel was spotless. There is a great restaurant on site. It is convenient to the oceanfront - only 20 mins away. I enjoyed my one night stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Stephen , Hotel Management
Hello DLA Sr., Thank you for writing a review for our hotel! We are glad to see that your stay with us was great. We hope to see you in the future! Stephen Milham Revenue Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2017
Very nice enjoyed myself me and my wife The staff the hotel the area the room a perfect highly recommend you will not be disappointed
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Stephen , Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for writing a review for our hotel! We are happy to see that your stay with us went well. Thank you for your nice words about the hotel staff. I will let them know. Stephen Milham Revenue Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet hotel quiet

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Quiet and comfortable
Cons: Update the interior facilities. The hotel needs a little TLC.
Staff is always courteous. As a preferred Expedia customer you receive a little treat. I was only there one day but have stayed here numerous times and the experience has always been pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Stephen , Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for writing a review for the hotel! We are glad to see that you had a quiet and comfortable time. We appreciate your kind words. Hope to see you in the future Stephen Milham Revenue Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: The hotel needs a face lift. Some of the furniture is worn.
Hotel staff were courteous and efficient. Although our room wasn't ready because we arrived early they quickly found a room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Stephen , Hotel Management
Hello Walker, Thank you for writing a review for our hotel! We are glad to hear that our staff was courteous and efficient. Thank you for your kind words. We hope that your visit to the area was great and to see you in the future. Stephen Milham Revenue Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice, pretty hotel.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
I just took my kids for an overnight. It is such a pretty, classic hotel with beautiful grounds. Lovely rooms and a very good breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Stephen , Hotel Management
Hello, We are glad to see that you gave us 5 out of 5. Thank you for your nice words. We hope to see you in the future when you are back in the area. Stephen Milham Revenue Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Beautiful hotel, wonderful restaurant, great spa!

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Firm mattresses (requested and given), pretty view and very comfortable! The gym and pool were great. The lobby gorgeous, sitting outside lovely.
Cons: Heavy perfume (cleaing solution?) used in hallways-a bit overwhelming. 2 days I prompted cleaning staff to clean room after do not distrube sign on.
Location: It's within 15 min to airport; 30 minutes to state park and beach/boardwalk
There was a pasta bar at the Swan Terrace the first evening. The hostess, Mia, responded to my question about other menu items by saying "no other menu items" but then showed me the menu at their other restaurant. When that didn't suit, I asked for recommendations of other restaurants and she asked me what I had in mind. I wanted a simple dish of salmon and greens. She said "let me talk to the chef." She then had the chef make me the most delicious dinner I've had in a very long time! She was so kind and I was thrilled. I would highly recommend this restaurant. There was a man with a dog in line to register in front of me. I told the woman at the desk I was allergic to dogs. So she kindly upgraded me to the building that was pet-free. She also assured that I had a firm mattress and a good view. Fabulous service and a beautiful hotel! The spa was clean and lovely. The outdoor pool was closed but the indoor pool was lovely and the hot tub was great. The gym has all the equipment i needed. i had a wonderful experience and would highly recommend it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Stephen , Hotel Management
Hello Therese, Thank you for writing a review for our hotel! We appreciate the time it took to write this review. I will pass these comments on to the rest of the hotel. We hope that your stay to the area was great and hope to see you in the future Stephen Milham Revenue Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Smith Mountain Lake, VA

It was OK

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: The room was clean and has a nice bathroom.
Cons: Fix whatever the problem was making noise through the vent in bathroom. Fix the bed so it doesn't shake at the slightest touch and supply more coffee.
Location: Located on campus of Regent University. If Regent is having a play I highly recommend. The hotel is close to restaurants and the interstate.
We booked a standard room for a very low price.The room was clean. There was a banging sound that came from the vent in the bathroom, even though it was not on, ALL night. Very annoying and didn't sleep well between that the bed. The bed however was to soft and shook with the slightest movement. I have virago and it really messed with it. There was only two coffees for us to make in the morning - one regular and one decaf. I called the front desk and asked for more to be sent up to us. The lady at the front desk was very sweet and assured me that housekeeping would be right up. We left an hour and a half later and no coffee was ever brought to our room. Overall it was an adequate room especially for the price. I would book again, however, I would try another level room in hopes of a better bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Stephen , Hotel Management
Hello Betty Ann, Thank you for writing a review for our hotel! We appreciate the time it took to write a detailed review and we are grateful for your kind words.This will help us become better. Stephen Milham Revenue Manager