Ratings based on 288 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Cynthia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by CAROLYN from NEW HAVEN, CT

SOMETIMES PEOPLE MAKE THE DIFFERENCE

Posted May 10, 2015 on Hotels
Sometimes the staff makes all the difference. Aquanita and the guys were more that accommodating in makes our stay pleasant. As far as the rooms; it's Portsmouth! What do you expect? The location is shotty, but not intrusive. Someone left the car door unlocked. Not saying who. Someone rifled through the car. Nothing was taken. The rooms were smaller than expected. It will not comfortably sleep four unless very young or very thin. But the kitchenette was appreciated. AND OUR ROOMS WERE VERY CLEAN!!! No exaggeration. So, considering the rate and the excellent service, we would definitely stay here again. But hopefully we will have no reasons to return to Portsmouth!
3 out of 5
by Julian from Spain, Madrid

Disapointment

Posted Apr 14, 2015 on Hotels
I was totally disappointed. I've been in this hotel in the past, and it is worst now. No breakfast bag, no desk on the room, the running machine in the fitness room didn't work, and other small details.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff, hotel need of some love.

Posted Apr 1, 2015
A friendly & helpful staff however the hotel is in need of renovations. Had to change rooms due to the AC rattling and shooting out black stuff, not to mention the towel rack, shower curtain rod and wallpaper were falling off the wall. The new room was better, at least the AC was working and the towel rack and shower curtain were hanging up. Really the worst part was lack of hot water. Had to run the water for, no kidding , at least (10) minutes to get luke warm water to shower. Cool old historic building in a good location but not a hotel I'll be returning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 13, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I won't go here again

Posted Feb 4, 2015 on Hotels
It took more than four hours with me going down to the front desk thrice to get a pressing iron though the hotel claimed it was part of the amenities in each room (receptionist even suggested I go somewhere else to iron my clothes!).I had no access to hot water during most of my stay.I was told the hotel was full and nothing could be done about it. The neighborhood isn't the best either though inside the hotel is safe. This is not about the hotel being old. I have lodged in old but efficient hotels before.
2 out of 5
by Stevens from KY

not again

Posted Jan 26, 2015 on Hotels
Unable to adjust thermostat. Cold room. Pulled covers off extra bed. bloody sheets. YUK! Not enough lighting in room. Will not stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT a 3 star hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Did Expedia actually visit this hotel ? Overall was not good Imagine the phone in the room was almost non-audible when calling/talking to the front desk. Call it a 2 star
4 out of 5
by xinyang

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Should be rated 2 stars

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Hard beds. old. Needs major updates. Staff is ok.