Ratings based on 772 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

AVERAGE

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: CHEAP
Cons: STAFF ATTITUDE
ROOM CONDITIONS WERE AVERAGE STAFF WAS SOMEWHAT UNCOOPERATIVE!!! WOULD NOT ISSUE ADDITIONAL TOWELS EVEN AFTER WE RETURNED THE SOILED ONES!!!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Disappointing at best

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Location: It's located near the hotel, so it's easy access if you'll be in and out of the city but need to stay somewhere for a couple of hours.
The hotel room had a broken sink faucet that came right off as soon as you turned the handle on. That was within the first 5 mins of arriving. In addition, the microwave didn't work. Tried to warm up some dinner and all the microwave did was hum, but the food came right out cold. And to add to further disappointment, the hotel double charged us on our stay. We were assured that it would be fixed, but the second charge has yet to be refunded. Our entire stay was such a disappointment. Thankfully, we were only there for a single night while we waited for an early morning flight. I'll be calling to have the second charge corrected, but honestly I didn't want to deal with the hassle on top of such a horrible stay. Definitely won't be recommending this to anyone - stay away from this place!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's not like the picture

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Nothing it's not like the picture at all didn't get the room i reserved
Cons: Didn't get the room i booked, it was hair in the bathroom cigarette burn holes in the sheets no comforter on the bed.....
Location: It is in a good location
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Staff& the coffee in the lobby.either take this as written or delete it .l will not waste any more of .my time.
Cons: Age.Breakfast was weak at best & was taken down at 9:00 AM
Location: Had to make u-turn across 4-lanes of traffic to enter hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Hi John, We would like to thank you for choosing the Magnuson Hotel in Virginia Beach and taking the time to post a review. It always helps when it comes to improving on our weaknesses. We are pleased to see overall you enjoyed your stay. We will certainly address the breakfast issues and we are consistently looking to update the property. We hope you will choose us the next time you are in the Virginia Beach area and we wish you all the best.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel room had a very bad odor & holes in floor.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Hotel room had holes in carpet and a very bad odor in room. I was given a new room which still had an odor. The cleaning person left no linen & no toiletries. Was never told about continental breakfast. Bathroom light wouldn't come on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Hello, We would like to start off by thanking you for giving us the opportunity to host your stay in the Virginia Beach/Norfolk area. We apologize for the poor experience, but we are glad you brought it to our attention as we are always looking to improve. It sounds like you may have been given one of the rooms we have been working on remodeling. We apologize for that and will certainly look to not do that again. We have brought up the breakfast notification to our staff, so they should be informing everyone who checks in on the features of the property. Thank you again and we hope you will give us another opportunity.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Overall it was a good experience. Great location and very comfortable beds
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Avenel, NJ

Nice hotel , very clean , worth of money.

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Nice hotel , very clean , worth of money. Nice friendly staffs , good breakfast.
Cons: Only complain was wifi which doesn't work properly. Needs improvement.
Nice hotel , very clean , worth of money. Nice friendly staffs , good breakfast. Only complain was wifi which doesn't work properly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

The Magnuson Hotel for me was just what I needed.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
The Staff was courteous and zo friendly. Especially the 7-3 & 3-11shift couldn't have been more pleasant. And it' close to restaurants the beach and stores. Thank you Ladies at the Magnuson Hotel. You made my birthday a great one.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, VA

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Bed was comfortable and clean
Cons: Bathroom could be cleaner Internet could be working better (it kept connecting and disconnecting) Room didn't have free AC sockets
I probably had the most ridiculous check in experience that I could ever face in my life. I’m not a motel guru but check in generally takes around a minute, right? Well, definitely not here I came to hotel around midnight. When I arrived there, main door was locked. There were 10 people outside and people are expected to communicate via “audit window”, which was a teller window. I’m not one of the PC folks who finds everything offensive but I personally found it offensive. I don’t come to this motel for robbing or killing. I’m not American, so maybe it just comes to me like that way. I waited outside for like an hour, possible 90 minutes with other folks. I heard that receptionist was just hired 2 days ago. Do I care? No. If you hire someone, you should train him like an apprentice with a more experienced employee until he or she can handle things (like checking customers in) alone. I also heard that from one of the guys waiting in the line that someone entered his room via card. After waiting for 60-90 minutes (I’m not exaggerating, I was literally outside waiting), I finally got my keycard. Did I finish it? Of course not. When I reach my room (I had a luggage, the room was in second floor and there was no elevator..at least I didn’t see it), boom!. First my keycard was not working and secondly I requested a smoking room but the room was non-smoking. So I picked my luggage and turn back to lobby. After waiting another 20 minutes, I was able to check in
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Nice room just wish the bedding was a bit more updated.