Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Great hotel despite noise problems

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: The hotel immediately addressed my concerns. They offered to refund my night bc of the noise, but since I booked on expedia it was too difficult.
Cons: Rude people can ruin everything!
Location: Good restaurants nearby
The hotel and its staff were fantastic. My night wasn't as restful as I had hoped because there was a group of people partying in the hallway from 11pm until 2 am. I told them that playing rap music and yelling outside my room made it difficult for me to sleep. They went away...until I woke up at 1:45 am to them doing the same thing. I called the front desk while half asleep and they were very nice and said "thank you for telling us, I will have security remove them from the property".
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by Jessica Singer, Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel online. I'm sorry to hear that we had some unruly guests during your stay. I'm glad that we took care of the situation and hope that the next time you're in the area you will choose to stay with us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2016
The hotel was very nice and the staff was amazing. it was very close to almost anything you want to do (food, nightlife, mall etc.) I would stay here every time if i could. The only problem i had was the ice machines did not work and had to go 1-2 floors up or down while i was there. other than that the place and staff was amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by Jessica Singer, Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I will make sure to have someone check the ice machines to ensure that our future guests will not have to travel for ice. I hope the next time you're in the area you will come and see us again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: I loved the marble in the bathroom and that it was a walk in shower instead of a bath in the room with a king.
Cons: The one issue that I had was that door handle to the room was a little tough. You had to push down really hard and push the door hard to open.
Location: The location was good distance from the airport, Norfolk, and VA Beach.
Staying at the Marriott Chesapeake was one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marcellus Mi

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2015
Very nice hotel, my daughter liked the gym. It was very well equipped.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, VA

Very nice with minor issues

Posted Nov 1, 2015
It was a great experience except for some minor issues. The keys that was given to us initially did not work, so I had to run down really fast because we were going to be late to the event we were going to attend. The carpet in our room had some stains, so I was kinda paranoid to let my kids walk without socks or shoes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spotsylvania, VA

Great Hotel!!!!

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Pros: The friendly employees, low booking price, it's location, clean rooms, large parking lot, elegant looking inside area and vending machines throughout.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The hotel is close to interstate 64. There is a gas station right across the street, which is convenient. Not sure about things to do nearby.
The Chesapeake Marriott is fantastic! I did a lot of hotel research and decided on this one. My Mom, Dad and I stayed for one night after a wedding. This was our first time staying at a Marriott. The front desk clerks were very hospitable and check in and out was easy. They accommondated our every need, even without us asking. That made us feel even better about picking this Marriott. Our room was easy to get to, clean, comfortable, arranged very ergonomically and had a clean, spacious, elegant bathroom. The hotel felt more upscale with it's decorative carpeting, gym and clean indoor swimming pool. The lobby had a very classy looking lounge with large, comfortable chairs. There were vending machines throughout and a mini self serve food area in the lobby. The well lit parking lot had a lot of free parking spaces too. They filled up quickly at night but there were still plenty left. I also liked that the Chesapeake Marriott is close to major roads and highways. As far as affordability goes, in my opinion, the booking price was low compared to other similar hotels but they didn't skimp elsewhere. If you are reading this then you have read other hotel reviews....let me tell you, there we no rude employees, no bugs, no flees, no last minute reservation problems, no bad smells, no dirty or old bed sheets and no run-down, old looking parts of the hotel. If we had to stay over in the Norfolk/Chesapeake/Virginia Beach area again, this will be the hotel we gladly pick.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jarratt, VA

Close to Norfolk Scope

Posted Oct 29, 2015
I was in town for my graduation at the Norfolk Scope. The hotel is within 6 miles and the price was very reasonable. I was close enough that I didn't have to worry with the traffic of the tunnel. The hotel bar is pricey, but my room was nice and cozy. I have no complaints in regards to the cleanliness of our room or the entire hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely hotel in a good location

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Lived up to what I expect from Marriott. The staff were friendly and professional. Had issues with the air condintioner a couple of times but the problem was resolved promptly on both occasions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spring, TX

Nice stay in Chesapeake

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Overall the hotel was great. We had a foul smelling comforter on the bed but they came and changed it promptly. The doors to the rooms make a lot of noise when they shut but that's typical in many hotels. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel but breakfast options poor

Posted May 3, 2015
Very clean. Bed was very comfortable. Continental breakfast would be great. Or more choices for purchase like low fat yogurt and more fresh fruit. Main choices were pastries, cereal and granola bars. Bagels or toast with low fat cream cheese or jelly would be great.