Ratings based on 532 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location great, staff excellent, really dated

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Staff and location
Facility desperately needs modernizing. Feels like you have time-warped back to 1990
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stephens City, Va

Nice Hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2016
I went to Norfolk to attend a conference. From the time I walked through the doors until I checked out I encountered the friendliest hotel staff! Cassandra, from the club level lounge, was amazing. She was so friendly and personable and so was the chef making omelets in the club level lounge. I only wish I could remember everyone's name because they all deserve recognition. Everything in the hotel was very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elizabeth City

Great Hotel

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Excellent staff. Quick and easy check in. Clean room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to parade and race

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Orbitz
No complaints very nice. Hotel staff delivered requested microwave promptly & was VERY polite.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, but problems

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
The mattresses in our room needed replacing, very saggy. No support. The room stayed on the cool side because of the large glass window and the chair that blocked the heating vent. The air coming out of the vent never felt warm, I got the room to 71 by setting the thermostat at 74. The room was clean, bathroom nice. Loved the view.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Due to a marathon the streets were being shut down. We had to wake at 6am in order to retrieve our rental car or else it would have been "stuck" and we would not have been able to drive out to our appointment. Had to leave at 6:30- no breakfast was available at that time. Would have been proper to have been informed of the situation when the reservation was made- alert the guests to this city held event which hampers the guests ability to get to and from the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We take great care in assuring each guest experience is positive, however, it appears that we did not meet your expectations over the busy Parade/Marathon weekend. Please accept my sincere apology. I have shared your thoughts with the appropriate team members, and we will work to improve our execution in the area your comments highlighted. Thanks again, and we hope that you will consider returning to the property in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Room was really comfortable. We stayed at the Sheraton across the street we were not impressed. This hotel is much nicer and is near a lot of restaurants and the water front.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Location: Much construction nearby, including closed down Festival Mall. When these things completed, should provide an interesting well-located area.
In-hotel restaurant relaxing with decent food at fair prices.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient for cruisers

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel staff was excellent and the room was quite comfy. I stayed the night before my cruise and it is close enough to walk to the cruise terminal.