Ratings based on 521 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elizabeth City

Great Hotel

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Excellent staff. Quick and easy check in. Clean room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Due to a marathon the streets were being shut down. We had to wake at 6am in order to retrieve our rental car or else it would have been "stuck" and we would not have been able to drive out to our appointment. Had to leave at 6:30- no breakfast was available at that time. Would have been proper to have been informed of the situation when the reservation was made- alert the guests to this city held event which hampers the guests ability to get to and from the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We take great care in assuring each guest experience is positive, however, it appears that we did not meet your expectations over the busy Parade/Marathon weekend. Please accept my sincere apology. I have shared your thoughts with the appropriate team members, and we will work to improve our execution in the area your comments highlighted. Thanks again, and we hope that you will consider returning to the property in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Location: Much construction nearby, including closed down Festival Mall. When these things completed, should provide an interesting well-located area.
In-hotel restaurant relaxing with decent food at fair prices.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach, VA

Marriot Stay for Wedding

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Cons: Possibly having enough baggage carts to cater to the hotel.
The check-in process was nice, but the niceties ended there. Me and my fiance stayed there the night before and the night of our wedding. The hotel was supposed to do something nice for our room the night of our wedding and not only did they not do that, but didn't even clean the room while we were gone. So we came back from our wedding to a room that hadn't been cleaned in 2 days. Regardless, we made the most of that. The following day while we were trying to leave the hotel, there was a 2 hour wait for a baggage cart to come to our room, so we ended up having to take all of our luggage, as well as the wedding trimmings that we ended up with out to the car ourselves. Not a great experience at all for one of the nicest hotels in Norfolk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2016 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. I have addressed your review with our team to heighten our awareness and foster improvements. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again. Sincerely, Jeff Corcoran
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Staff were great! View was wonderful! The bath tub needs to be refinished because it looks like it has been chipping for a while. The a/c fan motor sounded like a moped motor that was going to stop working at any moment. It didn't stop working, but unfortunately the noise continued every time it turned on.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ehhh it was okay

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed for two nights and there was no housekeeping
4 out of 5
by Tawanda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Word to the management staff at the Marriott

Posted Aug 22, 2016
When your guest arrives and checks in, hands over his credit card for incidentals, don't reach for the hand sanitizer to take care of your own germphobia tendencies, simply swipe the card and say have a nice night Mr. Barnhardt. Shame on you Marriott!!!!! I seldom leave reviews unless it is worthy. This was a stupid move on the staff of the Marriott. Blair