Ratings based on 1,172 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Find somewhere else to stay

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Cons: Service, hospitality, front-desk, operations
Location: This is right on the boardwalk, a great location.
Right from the start the folks at the front desk were rude and unable to help in anyway. What a great way to start a vacation! The room was ok and the pool was nice, but I would recommend looking elsewhere as this place is not very hospitable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2016 by Roland Rutjens, Hotel Management
We strive to offer great customer service and therefore we are very disappointed to read that this is the part you feel we have let ourselves down. We assure you we welcome all guests and try to create a friendly atmosphere and we are sorry that you were dissatisfied. Thank you for your comments Roland Rutjens General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Time share hotel

Posted May 25, 2016
As soon as we entered the hotel we were told we should not have booked through Expedia. We were not treated as guests. Immediately, buying into Diamond Resorts International was pushed on us. Room was tiny but clean. Would not stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2016 by Roland Rutjens , Hotel Management
We strive to offer great service to all our patrons and so we regret to read that you did not feel welcome-we assure you this is most definitely not an impression we would like to give. As a mostly vacation ownership resort, facilitation of a presentation may be part of the welcome, however attendance is not obligatory (unless specified in T&C of booking) and we are sorry if you were inconvenienced. Roland Rutjens General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2016
The only negative about this hotel stay was the slow check-in process and the unexpected $100 holding fee I was charged when I arrived. I was told the fee would be refunded but could take 5 days to be back in my checking account. there was an issue with my room which the manager promptly took care of and switched me from a studio to a queen room with a pullout sofa. The room was gorgeous and spacious, the staff was very good. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Roland Rutjens, Hotel Management
We are sorry to read that the check in process was not efficient as you would have liked and we thank you for your comments. We are glad to know that you had an overall pleasant stay and hope that you may visit us again Roland Rutjens General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Pros: The hotel was clean and modern except for internet connections.
Cons: Internet connection was bad. Parking was away from the hotel and we had to park the car away from the building.
Location: The location is everything. Nothing much else to do other then get into the car and sight see.
The hotel was nice but the environment was lacking. Not sure why. Staff were all young. Music for young group. We stayed in ocean front room and heard all the noise about the pool. Could not open our patio door for that reason. No screens in the units as well. Not a lot to do around the area other then beaching.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2016 by Roland Rutjens, Hotel Management
We are pleased to read that you found the accommodations adequate and our locations convenient. We hope that you had an overall pleasant stay at our resort and that you may consider visiting us again in the future! Roland Rutjens Resort Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A beautiful property

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: Clean rooms and easy access to the boardwalk and beach.
Cons: The street-side rooms do not have that great a view and the room was just a bit cramped with no reclining chair available due to size.
Location: You are right on the beach, so enjoy! Also, easy access to lots of restaurants and shops.
I was only able to stay a few days but I really enjoyed my stay. My room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The hotel has a nice fresh feel to it and the pool areas were kept very nice. If you are lucky enough to have a seaside room, the view is amazing. There is also a very nice workout area on one of the top floors with a fabulous view. The parking garage is only a block away and it was very easy to access as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2016 by Roland Rutjens, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind comments we are glad to read that we were able to offer you the assistance and care you required and hope you may visit us again in the future! Roland Rutjens General Manager
1 out of 5
by Shelia from Greensboro

Unhappy Traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Parking is expensive and across from the property. Wifi was not working more than a day. My power went out. I had to have maintenance come up twice. I did not get hotel service. This is the worst resort stay that I have ever experienced.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2016 by Diamond, Hotel Management
We are very saddened and disappointed to read your comments and we regret that you appear to have experienced some power and internet connection issues. We hope that you may decide to give us another chance in the future! Roland Rutjens General Manager
5 out of 5
by Mary E.

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Dhruvin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Could not check in until after 6:00pm was not happy with that. The room smelt like high school locker room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2016 by Diamond, Hotel Management
We are very sorry to read that and would like to kindly note that we encourage all guests who are in any way dissatisfied with their apartments to contact the team so that the issue may be addressed. We regret that on this occasion you did not enjoy your visit and would be thankful for another opportunity to improve this impression. We wish you all the best on your future travels Roland Rutjens General manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great for va beach!

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Overall nice accommodations. I was doing some hang gliding in the area and looking for a place to spend the wknd. We stayed in 1 bedroom ocean front suite. great pool area right on the beach. close to everything so we were able to park in parking garage and just walk everywhere during our stay. would recommend. also liked bar by the pool :)
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2016 by Roland Rutjens, Hotel Management
It is great to know you had an enjoyable visit here with us and we hope to see you coming back again in the near future! Roland Rutjens General Manager