Ratings based on 566 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santa clarita, ca

Waterfront

Posted Jul 14, 2016
No complaints, wish breakfast was complimentary for guests in their restaurant
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Good location

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Hotel was nice, good location. We were put in a room with a shipyard view. We got there and rm had a smell which was taking care of quickly. About 10 min drive to both the zoo and the ballpark. When we left we waited a little while for vallet. Overall it was nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Very nice hotel in the historic district .

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: Location and service.
Cons: We asked for a king sized bed and did not get it. The bed was comfortable just a little small for two people.
Location: Location was beautiful. Several restaurants and museums. We enjoyed the ferry ride into Norfolk.
The hotel was excellent . Service and facilities were first class. Location was beautiful . Wished I could have stayed longer. Would like to return in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, great staff

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: Excellent location, wonderful staff and customer service, nice on-site restaurant for breakfast, lunch or dinner
Location: Waterfront location, close to the ferry, Norfolk, shopping and restaurants, walking trails. About 25 minute drive to Virginia Beach
The hotel is perfectly situated - right on the water, near walking trails, close to Norfolk and the river ferry. The staff were all top notch; from check-in to check-out and in-between, they provided excellent customer service. They accommodated any request we made, and went above and beyond to help us. At one point, a staff member volunteered to travel to a grocery store and pick out a cake for a surprise celebration we were having for my in-laws (it was their 40th anniversary), video chatting from the store to make sure we got the exact cake we were looking for. From top to bottom, the hotel was spotless and well-maintained. The bar and restaurant had a nice selection of food and drinks and reasonable prices. There is on-side parking in an attached garage for $10/night, which was worth it to us. It was well lit and safe, only a few steps from the front of the hotel, and kept our car out of the elements when it rained. The rooms all had great views of the water and the ships passing by, which was really a highlight of our time. The bathrooms were slightly outdated, but well-maintained and very clean. All-in-all, I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again if we travel back to the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, NC

Lovely property on the river

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: A beautiful building in a great location
Cons: clean up the pool area
Location: Walking distance from Olde town Portsmouth and the restaurants and nightlife on High st. Next to the visitor center and on the River
This was an impressive hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant food was fresh and delicious. The location was excellent being walking distance to Olde town Portsmouth and High street. The room was massive with a comfortable bed and water pressure in the shower that was wonderful. However, parking was $10/day, and the lovely indoor pool was murky with overpowering smell of chlorine. There was a hot tub in the same room which I did not use. (The exercise room looked clean and well kept)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Posted Apr 26, 2016
I paid extra to get the King Bed but was told on check in they did not have any King bedrooms. That my reservation was a request, not a guarantee. I had also requested an upper floor room with skyline view. That is not what I was first given. After pointing this out, I was given the upper room with view I requested. The room was disappointing. The wall paper was a checkerboard of light and dark yellows. The beds were very, very soft. The pillows the same. The bathtub bottom was rounded which meant you were standing with your feet either on the sidewalls or they had be together. Very awkward and very slippery too. I had been looking forward to staying at the Renaissance for a long time and it was disappointing that it did not live up to my expectations. I have never written about a hotel stay before, good or bad, but I had to let you know about this visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by Derrick, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you for your comments. I do apologize for any issues with your reservation. While our room types are not guaranteed we do try our best to accommodate all guest requests. Thank you again for staying with us and we do hope you will allow us to make it up to you in the future. Sincerely, Derrick - GM
4 out of 5
by John K from San Francisco

PIT Hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Was there for business so hotel proved to be very convenient and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by Shaunta

Very upset customer

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
This was the second time staying and both times for a couple visit we had two double beds I'm very disappointed once again, but because we booked through another website no one could help us!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2016 by Mike, Hotel Management
Dear Shaunta, Thank you for your comments. I do apologize if we were able to accommodate you in your preferred room choice. Our team tries very hard to accommodate all room type requests, but there are times when this is not always possible. Thank you again for staying with us and we do hope we have the opportunity to host you again soon. Sincerely, Mike - Guest Services
5 out of 5
by Erica

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, MN

Great location, great experience.

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: What a fabulous view! A general feeling of high class in all areas. I felt as if I paid more money for this room than I did.
Location: The Information area near the paddle boats has a map of a walking tour of the old town houses. There is a restaurant at the center of the marina.
Visiting my Navy son in Norfolk was such an enjoyable experience! The room was fab! I had a view of the water and we watched the boats and ships as we caught up on our lives. I will book this hotel on my next trip. The breakfast was wonderful with fresh fruit. The staff was helpful in suggesting a good place to eat and calling me a taxi at the end of my stay.