Ratings based on 476 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2016
Perfect location, right across the street from the beach. Private balcony. Bathroom was not the cleanest. Staff was very friendly. Depending on where your room is, you can see some body of water from the private balcony. I was concerned after reading a lot of negative reviews about potential bed bugs -- I actually did not run into bed bugs / pests issues!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

I was not disappointed!

Posted Apr 5, 2016
I read the reviews and was very skeptical. Stayed at this hotel for a week during spring break. Staff was friendly and accommodating when we arrived. Our rooms were spacious and clean. The hotel itself is older and could use upgrades, but overall it was not bad. Very close to the beach and walking distance to the fun park and VA legends walk. It was inexpensive and met our needs! I recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Blew me away for the price I was very surprised very comfortable slept like a baby
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

STAY AWAY

Posted Dec 15, 2015 on Hotels
IF YOU LIKE STAYING AT A DUMP THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY. STRUCTURE INSIDE AND OUT IS CRUMBLING BETTER HOPE THERE IS NO EARTHQUAKE. AS FOR THE ROOM MOLD IN THE BATHROOM AND ON THE CEILING. THERE WERE BEDBUGS.THERE WAS NO MAID SERVICE AVAILABLE. WATER ON FLOORS IN THE HALLWAY, DIRTY WINDOWS AND RODENTS IN THE CEILING.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2016 by Sunny, Hotel Management
Dear Customer Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Property CHI General Manager Rodeway Inn by the Beach
3 out of 5
by Abdul Malik from New Jersey

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
Was ok, elevator and common areas should be cleaner.
4 out of 5
by brandon from portsmouth virginia

bargain at the beach

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
really, a hidden jewel. for the price, i had a very large room quite polite management and good stay
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Scarred from that visit

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
One of the pillowcases had hair on it from before and had not been washed. There were feces on top of the fridge that are thought to have come from a rat. There was mildew around the vent on the bathroom ceiling. The sheets were itchy and the room smelled stale. Definitely the most disgusting hotel room I've ever stayed in. My boyfriend and I will not be returning and it is most certainly a place I'd never bring a child. The only plus side is the customer service was friendly.
3 out of 5
by donna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

GOOD MOTEL FOR THE MONEY

Posted Oct 16, 2015
No complaints. Motel met my expectations. Liked that there was a full size refrigerator instead of a mini fridge. Phone wasn't working properly someone came up and fixed it right away.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from richmond, va

Good enough for me.

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Price, location, size of room.
Cons: Updated amenities.
Location: One block from the beach. Right in the middle of the main strip.
The hotel isn't the most aesthetically pleasing, but the rooms are large and pretty clean. Great location one block from the beach and right in the middle of it all.