Ratings based on 921 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Hotel was a good value

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Hotel appearance was a little ages with with older furnishings. The staff was superb from asking a good place to eat or a extra towel for the room.The rooms were clean and everything worked. The beach in front of the hotel was reserved for surfers only, you had to go 200 yards down the beach to swim. The trolley (highly recommended) goes right in front of the hotel.Was there for 2 days and enjoyed it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Falls Church

Vacation on a budget

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Right on the beach.
Cons: Air conditioning. Larger TV. Modern decor.
Location: Great for families. Playground a block from the Inn. Shops and restaurants near by. The trolley was a disappointment.
Pros: The Inn is great for families on a budget. Right on the beach, playground a block away, right on the board walk. Cons: The air conditioner in the Schooner Inn was at 78 degrees when we arrived on a 100 degree day. We lowered the AC down to 70 around 5pm. Went to dinner, came back around 11pm, the room was only at 74 degrees. It never went below this. Other: We purchased a one day pass with the Trolley, took it to dinner down to block 21. The Inn is around block 5. On our return home, no Trolley ever passed, even though they stated they ran until 2 am. We would suggest not purchasing a day pass. Purchase each way. Someone on our floor burnt a potato in the microwave and it caused the smell to migrate into our room, would have been nice if the staff communicated with guest what happened and assured everything was taken care off.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Perfect location.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Great place to stay. Very clean and staff was friendly. Great location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scranton, PA

Serviceable Hotel, Great Location

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: Relatively quiet, great beach access, nice oceanfront balcony, clean, comfortable bed and bathroom.
Cons: Replenishment of provided supplies should be daily.
Location: This hotel is the last (first?) one on the beach but restaurants and nightlife are all within walking distance. Easy access to beach and pool.
The Schooner Inn does the job. Don't expect any frills but if you are looking for a clean bed and apartment-like efficiency with easy access to beach and pool, then this is it. The chambermaid service could be a skoch better--the coffee wasn't replenished daily, the floor had dirt spots, etc. But the basics were there. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Wi-Fi and tv worked great. The facility is a little tired looking but not completely bedraggled yet. This all being said, the price was more reasonable than most others, especially if you book early.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Nice hot tub & view of the beach, friendly service

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: hot tub, beach front and easy parking
We got a great deal through Expedia. We had a nice peaceful stay right on the beach with a great hot tub and kitchenette. Even though this hotel is at the end of the main strip, we were still close enough to everything and had a great time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2016
Toilet broken, ceiling leaked on us, Dirty Towels, staff refused to move us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leeds UK

Nicely located at the south end of the Boardwalk

Posted May 24, 2016
Right on the beach. Just the basics, done well. F22s and F16s flying over constantly may annoy some, but not us!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Nice location at the end of the Boardwalk.

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Spray for rodents
Location: Plenty of good places to eat. It's right on the Boardwalk.
I didn't have any problems. My only complaint is that I saw a couple of ants in the bathroom. Other than that the location was great and the room was clean. I enjoyed sitting on the balcony looking at the ocean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: Location, at the end of the boardwalk
Cons: New, firmer beds, new bedding sheets, better cleaning.
Location: Ocean front hotel, beside a lovely childrens park on the beach, Close to restaurants.
Front desk reception was welcoming and let us in early. Room was extremely musty smelling. It was a large two bedroom, non ocean front room. The bathroom floor looked dirty and there were long hairs in the tub and on the bathroom floor. The mattresses were ready to be replaced, and the linens were threadbare.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted May 6, 2016
This hotel was perfect and relaxing. My girlfriend is extremely picky when it comes to beds/pillows and she kept saying how comfortable it all was--she slept like a baby! The hotel staff was amazing and very kind, especially the male who checked us in around 1 am when we arrived. The room was clean, the whirlpool in the room was amazing and its on the quite side of VA beach strip but still close/walking distance to everything.