Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

At the End of the Boardwalk

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location. Bed was comfortable. Ambiance was fine. Had a great walk on the beach the next morning.
Cons: Bigger bed. Facing the waterfront instead of the pool.
Location: Sunrise Cafe two blocks away with great breakfast. Right on the beach so able to have a great walk on the waterfront beach. Playground nearby.
RIght on the waterfront. Should have checked my room since we were not facing the waterfront. Room was great except wish bed had been larger. Everything else was great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chesterfield, VA

Comfortable hotel, reasonably priced, on the beach

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Location, value, overall experience.
Location: Right across the road from Rudee Inlet, restaurants, boat excursions, etc. Right on the beach in a less-crowded area. 30 minutes from Back Bay NWR
The Schooner Inn is my go-to hotel for short trips to Virginia Beach - it is clean, comfortable, safe, and right on the beach in a quiet area. Good restaurants are within walking distance, as is Rudy Inlet. Free internet that works well. Not fancy, but a great value and the staff is very nice. One thing to keep in mind is that only one car per room is provided free on-site parking, but reasonable overnight parking is very close by.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Amboy, NJ

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: That it was right on the beach and a short distance for just about everything!
Unfortunately it rained both days of our stay but the hotel is right on the beach. Talk about convenient!!! The room was clean and the nice thing was the small refrigerator and microwave. Plent of places to eat but because we visited later in September a number of store were closed for the season but enough were open to get what was needed. If you're looking for some excellent Italian fare go to Y NOT on Atlantic Ave. By far the best I've ever had. Will definitely be booking the Schooner Inn again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: It was oceanfront ar a reasonable rate
Location: Location was perfect, walking distance to most restaurants.
Very nice hotel, room was as expected. Have no complaints
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Hotel staff at the desk were very helpful and accommodating. Added an extra night with no issues and made it so we did not even have to change rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Oceanfront

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Good hotel, and great price, for being on the ocean front and having the jacuzzi, we enjoyed our stay not a 5 star but still a really good one.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fredericksburg, Va

Oceanfront, far end of the boardwalk

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Nice hotel with kitchenette. Balconies overlooking the ocean, clean rooms, nice staff. Next to the playground area, which was nice since I had my 4 year old granddaughter with me. Rates are reasonable. The hotel is the last one on the boardwalk, so the beach area was less crowded than some areas farther up. I will be coming get back here on future trips.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Awesome location. Near the boating activities

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Near the beach
Cons: Housekeeping!! One day no one even came into our room. No clean towels. The hall outside our room had crushed grapes on the tile for days.
Location: near restaurants we liked and near the boating activities we enjoy
We enjoyed the location of the beach. We purposely went after Labor Day to enjoy a quieter vacation but most activities were still operating. The people in the stores were all friendly and more relaxed. It was a wonderful vacation and we did a lot of things that were memorable - parasailing and indoor skydiving!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016
No parking for 2 cars. Very dirty. Broken deck chairs. Uncomfortable bed!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from winchester va

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Close to beach Near great restraunts Friendly staff.