Ratings based on 450 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worn out

Posted Sep 12, 2016
One elevator didn't work and caused a lot of traffic. We were on the 9th floor. I think the staff was so busy they just didn't have time to care. I can respect that but it's tough to pay top dollar and not receive anything in return. Very disappointed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Beautiful oceanview; unfriendly staff

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Location - oceanfront - petfriendly.
Cons: Friendliness of staff, prompt service, complimentary breakfast, better controlled air conditioning, bathroom fan, cold frig - Expedia honesty!
Location: Enjoyed boardwalk and bike trail - beautiful view - though all the oceanfront hotels offered the same. Not worth staying at the Sheraton!
Great ocean view. The desk staff was unfriendly; borderline rude. Room service extremely slow. Waited 30 minutes for towels to be delivered before showering. Was told only one delivery person working. Refrigerator was warm and didn't keep anything cold; had to use our cooler. Tiny bathroom; no fan at all. The air conditioner worked well, but had to keep adjusting it as it would get really cold requiring it be turned down only for it to get too warm and have to be turned up again. This was required around the clock. Cart was not available at checkout. Was told that the staff could bring one up when available, but carts were not available as guests take them and keep them too long in their rooms. I then had to wait for a cart and TIP the staff to do what I could have done myself. Nice!! Overall disappointed in the hotel. Not at all what I expected from the Sheraton - it use to have a great reputation with excellent service. What a let down!! Would not recommend. Also, do not book through Expedia - was given false info. Was told Sheraton offered a free complimentary breakfast; was a $13 breakfast buffet. Told my room had 2 queen beds and a sofa bed - actually none of the pet friendly rooms have sofa beds. Though nonsmoking room was told can smoke on balcony - untrue! Of course I didn't discover this until front desk staff informed me upon check-in. Guess Expedia needed the business enough to tell customers what they want to hear rather than the truth. Congrats Expedia!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

Great location!!

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Nice, clean and comfortable rooms, great view Breakfast was not good but there is a great breakfast place less than a block away 😊 Overall great hotel, I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Clean lobby, accessible to the beach, nice locatio

Posted Aug 23, 2016
We had a great time at this hotel. We wanted to be checked into the room earlier because we had a baby and toddlers with us. Although we weren't accommodated earlier, they had upgraded our room which was a partial view to a full ocean view room. It was nice of them.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, VA

Nice location on the beach

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: The location, facility, and staff make this a worthwhile option.
Cons: Elevators need an upgrade.
Location: Get out and walk!
Getting the bad out of the way, very small bathroom and the two elevators are inadequate. The good, the location right on the beech, the staff were friendly and helpful - truly delightful people. The room was comfortable and clean. The ocean front balcony was smallish and not the type of balcony that you'd be inclined to lounge on. We stayed during very hot weather so in the indoor pool was like a swamp. The outdoor pool was fun and crowded during parts of the day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach, Va

Not a pleasant stay!

Posted Aug 18, 2016
The room was extremely warm even though the thermostat was set at 60°. The hallways were very humid and hot. The cleanliness of the room was very disappointing. The bedskirts had stains on them and one of the washcloths had a stain on it as well. For what was paid on the room, I was very shocked and disappointed with my stay. I won't ever come back again!!! I spoke with the supervisor about my stay and she referred me back to the 3rd party I booked with. I had booked a king size bed and when I arrived to the room there were 2 double beds.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ric

Great stay

Posted Aug 17, 2016
We really enjoyed our mini-cation. This hotel on the beach was exactly what we were looking for.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel oceanfront stay

Posted Aug 11, 2016
We stay here every time we visit VA Beach. All of our stays have been very nice. This stay however was different, our room wasn't cleaned well. The duvet was dirty upon arrival and the table and floor wasn't wiped or vacuumed. I did request a new duvet from guests services and they immediately had house keeping replace both duvets.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
Overall the hotel was nice but you can tell it has old bones. The bathrooms were tiny and could use some upgrades. The elevators were too small and slow and seemed to not be able to handle the hotel crowd.
4 out of 5
by Dale from Niagara falls

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
Was very disappointed with service. Our room had a toilet issue and it took 2 calls to get someone to come while the toilet was leaking all over. Then after they fixed it my wife took a shower and had to step out into at least an inch of toilet water because it was coming out the top and bottom of the toilet. It was fixed again and by this time we where late for breakfast and had to check out. No one even apologized or asked us about our stay. We have to children who had to wait for breakfast. We will not be staying there again and will not recommend it to anyone else.