Ratings based on 574 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
42% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bayside View

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Beautiful view, perfect quiet beach, could use some updating, but would definitely go back. Breakfast was just cereal and a few pastries, but it was still worth it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

cleaning of the rooms

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: Need to make sure the room all clean and paint the out side of the build. then it would look like a crapping place to stay.
Location: beach and naval base
They need to clean the rooms a lot better. Need to vaccum, change the sheet everyday and make sure there is no mold in the bathroom and no bugs in the room. We wil never stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Nice staff, easy check-in
Location: Virginia Zoo, beach
We were on our way to a wedding. This hotel was conveniently located, and perfectly fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: It was pretty cheap
Location: Good location
This hotel could use some major updating and a deep cleaning
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No no

Posted May 4, 2017
Pool was dirty like room and Beach was closed for construction
1 out of 5
by Erin

Worse than Bates!

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
I'm not sure where to start. I chose this hotel because it was located on the beach, but let's just say you get what you pay for. We had a 4 day reservation to visit our daughter and son-in-law who is in the Navy and wanted to stay close. As you can see by the pictures, the place is very rundown. The access to the beach is the slabs broken off of the fence... hopefully you can climb over it. The latch on the door was broken off, ceiling was cracked, flooring on the walkways had potholes in it, stairway was a mess, cracked, and awful paint job, cracked window.. lawsuit waiting to happen, double "high" ledge leading into the bathroom (I'm sure causing multiple stubbed/broken toes).. another lawsuit waiting, and to top it off, our microwave caught on fire. We were afraid the fire alarms would go off from the smoke, but there weren't any alarms. We told them about the microwave multiple times. This caught on fire the second day we were there and on our last day (the 4th day) it still hadn't been replaced. Asked for extra pillows, and this took 2 days to get. Room not cleaned 1st day. Only thing good about the place was the bed was comfortable, or maybe we were just totally exhausted from it all. I'm not really one to complain, but I think that had to be the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. I can handle a hotel being a little run down and not updated, but this was the worst, and the service, or lack of, wasn't any better. I DO NOT recommend this hotel for anyone!
1 out of 5
by Tracie

poor

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
the room was dirty old soap n shower there was no couch or fold out in room so one of the kids sleep at the end of the bed like a dog. the free breakfast was not a lot to pick from and they never had coffee. it was nasty place and a local said don't leave anything in the room and to stay together the hotel has a bad wrap. the bathroom vent didn't work it was covered in dirt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Rick, Hotel Management
Sorry but what you saw in the picture and wanted was a suite and you had booked just regular king.
5 out of 5
by Deborah

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Rick, Hotel Management
Thank you
1 out of 5
by Shannon

DO NOT RECOMMEND

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! Very outdated, nasty, rude front desk, appeared as though people were homesteading there. Using Hotels.com you are treated unfairly. Do not let the beachfront fool you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Rick, Hotel Management
I apologies on behalf of my staff and all guest are same for us if you make reservation thru hotel or any other website. If you look at beach view room which is higher price if you book that then only you will get ocean view room
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from norfolk, va

very loud

Posted Apr 9, 2017
It's nice next to the pier but otherwise it's so loud from the kids running around to people getting their grove on to housekeeping yelling across the way. Walls are literally paper thin and I have to turn the tv on loud and the AC. Would not recommend if you like your quiet time. And the manager is so money hungry they will charge you extra for everything. Don't do it. The most expensive super 8 ever.