Ratings based on 331 Verified Reviews

1.9 out of 5
28% of guests recommend
2.0 Room cleanliness
2.3 Service & staff
2.1 Room comfort
1.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NORFOLK, VA.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: NOTHING!!!
Cons: ALL OF IT!!!
Location: LOT'S OF DRUNK PEOPLE AND HOMELESS.
I've been to a lot of motel, hotel but, this is the worst I come across. The wall way smelled like weed the next door room screaming on the top of his lungs. I called the front desk about the issue they didn't care. No TV signal, No curtain by the door you can see all the cars passing by and lights from outside. I couldn't sleep. I check in at 3pm afternoon I, check out 11pm same day. They didn't even refund me. But that's okay money is not a big deal but, being miserable staying there for more hours is terrible. Lots of junky guest, rude people. Ohh and by the way when we check in there's a big giant box inside the room. I asked the front desk he aid they going change the headboard and it's on the top of the TV cabinet very annoying, I asked if they can remove the box for the safety of m little one (boy) anyway that box is not suppose to be there. I waited 3hours to someone to come and remove the box. Guess what!! No one came till we check out the box still there. I will never ever recommend this motel or hotel. VERY BAD EXPERIENCE!!! DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
On behalf of our team, I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced following your stay here at our hotel. Your comment about the box inside the room you stayed in will be reported to our administrators for evaluation and this will be called to the attention of concerned staff. We take our guests’ feedback seriously and I assure you that this is addressed accordingly. We hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
I booked this hotel for my employees and also for my family trip to VBeach. I have only good things to say about this hotel. Manager Rachel was very helpful and courteous to us. Room cleaners also very respectful to keep our rooms spotless. I'll definitely use this Super8 again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We thank you for taking the time to share with us your thoughts about your stay here at our hotel. It is heartwarming to learn that we were able to suffice your accommodation needs and you, your family and employees did enjoy a relaxing time with us. We will do our best to make your next visit a better experience. Kind regards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Paid for 2 nights & we left 12 hrs before check-out on the second day...we were really disappointed w/the Hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Hi, we want to express our deep thanks to you for choosing to stay with us. On the other hand, please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you had during your stay. We are hoping and looking forward to serve you better next time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not happy with Super 8 at all.

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
I tried to book this hotel last Friday thru Hotel.com from an email telling me I could get a special Friday rate. I failed to realize that it was not a special rate for BOOKING on Friday but for accommodations FOR Friday. I put in a Saturday check-in date and when I booked it it got changed to FRIDAY and I had to pay for Friday when I did not arrive until Sat. and then was told there were no rooms! WhenI checked your site again there were rooms available! This was totally unacceptable. I am reluctant to use you again to make reservations and will NEVER patronize SUPER 8.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Hotel was dirty and staff rude!!!!

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Hotel rooms and hallways were filthy. We had to switch rooms twice due to dirty rooms. Final room was a little cleaner but smelled horribly. Night attendant was rude about the situation and even ruder when we tried to inquire where to park. Just replied behind the subway. There were 3 lots back there and a night hard to see signs about which lot was which. Important info so you don't get towed. Don't stay here!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your generous description regarding your stay with us. But we are sorry for failing to provide you the best rooms during your stay. We look forward to providing a truly worth it accommodation on your next stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay Somewhere Else!!!!!!! Don't waste your $!!!

Posted Sep 20, 2016
The room was not that clean, power didn't work on one side of the room, very loud and rude guests in the room above us, kept waking us up!! Several staff members seemed to be just walking around or riding the only 1 elevator in the hotel most of the time! Hotel needs a major face lift! Should have more than one elevator!!! The parking lot is a big JOKE! We couldn't find a space in the parking lot because they allow customers of the bars or clubs around there to park in there!!We reported it to the rude young night counter guy, who could careless!!! We will never stay here again!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for choosing us. But the issues you had with the room is something we would definitely take an urgent look at. We are very sorry for failing to please you in this area but we sure hope you can give us chance to show the best portion of this when you get back. Thank you for staying with us!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel ever!

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Awful experience I will never stay at a super 8 again, or reccomend it to anyone! It was the Filthiest place I've ever stayed! Take my word for it you won't regret spending an extra $20/per night to get something clean! I had to get cleaning supplies from the front Desk because it was so filthy! Also the area is terrible, ALOT of homeless people. We even had a homeless man follow us in from the beach, we had to lose him in the elevator, creepy!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I regret that you were displeased with your experience here at our hotel. I wish we have more details about your booking in our hotel. So we could further verify and address your concerns, call the the attention of concerned staff for corrective measure. Nonetheless, your feedback on the condition of clean will be shared with our team for reference. We will do our best to provide you better, more comfortable hotel accommodation on your next visit. Have a great day!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from va beach

Worst hotel ever

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Guy at desk double charged me after I paid Expedia. Took 4 days to get credit. Room was filthy. Hair in the shower. Left iPhone and watch chargers in room, went back and housekeeping did not turn them in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I sincerely apologize for the setback you experienced particularly about the charges in your account. Your concern about your iphone is very concerning. I will escalate your review for verification, I assure you that our key people will address this matter. Thank you for letting us know.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DO NOT STAY HERE!

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: The beach and restaurants, clubs, etc. Typical beachy area.
The staff was unfriendly (at best) and most were rude. I booked an oceanfront room with 2 queen beds and when I arrived we had a "partial" view room with one king. The view was of the parking lot! When I asked the front desk person about it, she said that was what I booked. Even after showing her my Expedia confirmation, she said that was what Expedia sent her. And, there were no other rooms available so we were forced to stick with the room. Which, also, was not clean, and the phone didn't work. The towels felt like sandpaper, the locks on many of the external didn't work or weren't even present. And the parking situation is horrendous. Do not stay at this hotel! On a positive note, when I called Expedia about the problem, they were very gracious and did everything they could to help me out, including trying to find me another hotel. Alas, they were unable to but the customer service rep was awesome! Way to go Expedia for trying to help your customer out!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and you were disappointed with the services from our staff on duty. Your comment on the issues you experienced with the booking will be escalated, we will make certain similar issue is avoided moving forward. We hope to see you again soon. Have a great day!