Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016
The hotel was well situated. The only down side was the parking was down the street.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arlington Heights, Illinois

Okay hotel on beach

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Nothing outstanding to report. Dirty and cluttered front desk area with clerk who didn't greet me when I walked in. I had to ask if it was the front desk because it was a narrow island and I thought the guy on the laptop was merely a guest using a hotel computer. My original room was above some large generator units and looked down onto a rooftop that had dirty clothes on it. The front desk guy was nice nd moved my room to other side of hotel away from the generator units. View was nice but because the hotel is angled (like a mostly open book), you only get a partial view of the boardwalk instead of being able to see in both directions. Nothing overtly bad but nothing really outstanding either. Nice Lighthouse Bar and Grill next door that you could order food to go if you wanted.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Great location, every room is beachfront. Didn't have to move the car from the parking lot the whole trip. Also provide valet to the lot, which is located around the corner. Would return for sure.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pearisburg, Va.

First timer

Posted Aug 26, 2016
My husband and I had never been to the beach and we arrived at the Surfbreak a half hour before check-in. From parking, checking in, til we got to our room, took only 15 minutes. Our room was cleaned daily, the staff was very friendly and we had no problems. We will be back to the area next year and would most likely stay at the Surfbreak again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island

Good Location, could do better...

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: The location is good.
Cons: Friendlier staff! Buy more towels! Buy more luggage racks! I had to hoof all my belongings from the 3rd floor because I couldn't get a luggage rack!
Location: Plenty of things to do for the kids. Go-carts were fun. Amusement park nearby. Rent a bike! The beach was beautiful! Aquarium was nice too!
The hotel is in a good location on the boardwalk. The pool is small, but satisfied the kids. The room was a good size as were the queen sized beds. I was told this hotel was totally renovated on the off season. The lobby was nice and the first floor bathrooms were nice and updated and clean every time I used them. The hotel in all was satisfactory at best 3 stars. I think for the price we paid per night we could have done better. My problems at this hotel mainly were with the staff. Checking in was ok, nothing special, the clerk looked disinterested that we were there. The valet was helpful and showed us where the parking lot was (since it's not attached to the property). We get up to the room and right away I notice we only have 3 sets of towels. We checked in as 4 people, 2 adults and 2 children. So I called right away to get another set of towels and they were delivered promptly. We were ready to leave and we went to use the safe and the safe needed batteries, so this was 2nd call I had to place within 30 mins to the front desk. They sent up someone to address this issue promptly as well. It took housekeeping a long time to make up the room, it seemed like we had to remind her the room needed to be made up. Towels were a problem here all week long. I was constantly calling for a new set of towels. Housekeeping came to make up the room and told me they ran out of towels and she was waiting for them, but never returned with cleans ones.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view but hotel was not great for price

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Girls weekend to celebrate birthday was fun but hotel was terrible. Paid $284 a night and only nice part of hotel was view from balcony. Room small, bathroom small, no maid service, very poor customer service. Pool was gross and small. Wifi was poor barely worked. There are some new feature but done on cheap budget. Loud music until late from bar downstairs and we were on 8 floor. No cart to load your luggage, front door clerk didn't even so much as hold door for anyone trying to checkout. Only provide 1 parking pass. Carpet throughout hotel was nasty and smelly. I would never stay in this hotel again. For the money this hotel was very disappointing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlantic City, NJ

Great location. Good beach bar.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: The location was great. The room was remodeled stylishly was clean and roomy. The balcony was comfortable and had a spectacular view.
Cons: Train staff. Get rid of furniture in hallway leading to elevator. Get better valet carts.
Location: Beach, bike, walk, no car needed. Bar/restaurant in hotel has the best live music in town every night beginning at 6 pm.
The hotel staff was rude. The valet carts are cheap and don't function properly. Staff was rude and wouldn't even hold a door. 4 or 5 people were working in the area and no one offered to hold a door for two women struggling with the defective cart. The cart doesn't even fit through the hall way leading to the elevator. This happened upon check in and check out.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NorthernVA

A great bargain on the beachfront

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Great views, easy beach access
Cons: Our bathroom fixtures had seen better days - maybe just some small touches to make the room a tad nicer.
Location: Great location, right on the beach and the boardwalk. The trolley picks up a block away, so you can get a pass to take the trolley all over.
The room was exactly as shown in the pictures and our room faced the ocean. The hotel has great views. We used the pool and ate at the Calypso, as well as hung out at the beach, so we got the whole experience. It's not the fanciest hotel, but it was clean, the beds were comfortable, the beach access was perfect, the staff were very friendly, and the food at the bar was delicious. We talked to a family staying at an 'economy class' hotel a few blocks away and they were paying the same rate per night without direct beach access, so I think we got a great deal. There is a lack of parking, but they have valet and the guys were on the ball - so don't sweat that (plus, you can get a trolley pass like we did and use the trolleys to get around to the aquarium and such). I would definitely stay here again. Also, if you are looking for nightlife, we walked the boardwalk and saw several restaurants with bars, but Calypso was by far the 'most happening' spot around.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice oceanfront room

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Hotel staff pleasant. We arrived early and were able to go ahead and check in. Valet parking was free which is a nice perk. They also let us check out an hour later. Excellent experience overall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Not bad for the price

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Good hotel for the money even tho the parking it's about block away from the hotel,