Ratings based on 777 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Under renovation, so most hotel facilities not open but room was clean and comfortable with a great view on the oceanfront.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Under Construction

Posted Nov 3, 2015
When we arrived room was ready. Hotel was not! We were not told about the hotel renovations being done on EVERY FLOOR. The noise from the workers, though not horrible, was present and disturbing. I was going to take pictures but decided not, I wish I had.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, clean place with great ocean view

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: Ocean view with direct access to beach.
Staff are very helpful, suite was spotless with nice balcony overlooking ocean. Breakfast ok. Hotel is undergoing renovation in foyer/restaurant as part of a rebranding upgrade.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Sept. 2015 visit to Surfside Ocean Front

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Great location. Ocean views are fantastic. Pleasant Staff. Rooms are clean.
Location: Best Crab Legs, all you can eat, must go to Captain George's on Laskin Road!
We stayed at the Surfside Oceanfront Inn and Suites in Sept. 2015. The hotel staff at our arrival and during our stay were great, especially Geovanni, he was very pleasant and very helpful!! We were quite surprised at actually how nice the hotel is since we had never stayed there before and it is an old hotel. We found it to be very clean. The FREE Breakfast was good. The views from the ocean front rooms are amazing! I will add, because of the Boardwalk running along the strip of hotels you may want to ask for a floor higher than the 4th floor otherwise there is too much light in the late evening and night that effects the view of the ocean and takes away from it! The hotel is old and may not be a 5 Star but it is clean, pleasant staff, good FREE food and the Ocean view is A+. Since we were there in September it was not really a problem but there is no air conditioning in the halls or elevators so during prime season it may be a bit uncomfortable. The only real complaint I had is that the pillows are very lumpy and not comfy! They are in the process now of remolding so we will return to see how that goes! We would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by William from Bensalem, PA

Posted Sep 20, 2015 on Hotels
We had a wonderful time. Everything about the hotel was great!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by James G.

Fall vacation

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Orbitz
Location was great, short walk for fishing at pier. Breakfast was hot and came in handy. My room was clean, no smells, at end of hall and very quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tony from Washington, DC

Seeking Ocean Tranquility

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
Needed to come in town to check on property in Newport News. My cousin rode along to enjoy the beach mainly. The stay allowed both of us to relax. The staff was very inviting, informative and supportive. All were very pleasant. We felt safe and comfortable. Look forward to staying at Surfside again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jovan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jenny from Charlottesville, VA

Post Labor Day Visit Was Great

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
We chose to stay a few days after Labor Day weekend. We enjoyed the stay - the room had been updated, was clean and was exactly as described. We enjoyed sitting out on the very small balcony overlooking the beach, boardwalk and biking trail, just watching all the people passing by. The beach is kept in pristine condition, presumably by the city, (groomed every night, lots of trash barrels everywhere etc.) and the only problem we encountered was that we had been assured there were chairs and umbrellas for rent. Unfortunately, they "go away" right after Labor Day. Did NOT like the hotel restaurant but DID like the free daily breakfast (provided in a different area); it was a little better than one might expect. I suspect the hotel gets VERY crowded during the summer. Overall, a pleasant experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Virginia

Very nice hotel, right on the beach.

Posted Sep 10, 2015
I had a wonderful stay at this hotel, very clean. The staff was very nice and helpful in all my questions. I would definitely stay again :)