Ratings based on 451 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by KelandKev

Very Disappointed

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Orbitz
I thought this was going to be one of those lovely, quaint boutique hotels, based on the photos I saw on the web. NO, it isn't. It is dark, depressing, and run down. Old heat/air system was broken while we were there so it was about 80 degrees inside the hotel. Everything is old and worn. Our room was supposed to be a suite, but there was no sofa or chair to sit on and the room was tiny, dark and hot. The sheets looked like they had been slept on and there was only one towel in the bathroom. The people at the front desk didn't even make eye contact with us while we were checking in and they acted as if they hated their jobs. It's sad. This hotel has so much potential, but it needs to be completely renovated and managed by someone who cares about it. We will not go back there.
1 out of 5
by david from Statesville nc

totally dissatisfied

Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
First impressions obviously aren't important,a lack of on site parking,limited street parking.The establishment was dated,dark,dingy.The management refused to refund my money for early check out.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2015 on Hotels
Unsafe Door was cracked around the card reader and you could push door open. Door had to be lifted to close. Changed room to suite. Thermostat in bedroom did not work and no AC in bedroom Had to lower AC in living room to 65 to get any air circulation in bedroom Place is a joke
2 out of 5
by Heidi from Fayetteville


Posted Aug 8, 2015 on Hotels
The room temperature was either hot or cold, and the water rarely got beyond Luke warm without telling the staff so they could adjust the boiler. We had to ask for more towels and toilet paper every day for four days. Use of the parking garage required a staff member (typically the one person that was working the front desk, there was rarely more than one) to walk out and open the door for us to get our car. Other than that, the hotel is in a great location and the building itself has a lot of character and was very clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

With a little effort it could be much better.

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Cons: Fix it up, customer service non existence
No one was interested in makinag our experience much better.
3 out of 5
by Karen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to spirit of Norfolk

Posted Jul 27, 2015
The bed was uncomfortable to floors were unlevel no hot water in shower and parking is awful
2 out of 5
by Patricia from Ft lauderdale

Needs attention

Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Hotels
Bath tub needs caulking Wallpaper falling off walls Old dirty telephone Hot water - lukewarm at best No cream for coffee on 2nd floor Staff was friendly
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not stay again.

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Hotels
The website says microwave and refrigerator are available upon request. I requested them but was told they didn't have any. The carpet was damp and smelled like mild dew. They don't restock their vending machine. Couldn't buy water on my floor, had to go to 3 different floors to look for water in a vending machine. Their TV!!! What can I say, NUCLEAR REACTOR!!! That TV looks like it's from the 90s. In addition, nothing was mentioned about having to pay for parking. Hotel only has 20 spots available for guest parking. I had to park 3 blocks away in a city garage. Would not recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by Melonee T.

Stop over adequate

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Orbitz
We used this hotel as a stop over before moving on to the beach. It is an older hotel with some very pretty accents although, some things need attention. The elevator is slow and soooo little, it feels like you are in a match box. The staff was very attentive and courteous. The parking is pretty pricey especially if there are 3 cars in your party and it is inconvenient to have one of the staff let you in the garage every time you need to go to your car. Other than those things, the hotel has it's own charm.