Ratings based on 1,476 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from henrico va

Nice hotel good location

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Good location clean hotel Each room has good views
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Barclay review

Posted Feb 28, 2017
One of the best, most comfortable and accommodating stays! Clean updated suite with homelike atmosphere! I give 5 stars with one request, a full size fridge w/freezer! One drawback was the "General" in charge of breakfast was hovering over everyone to make you feel uncomfortable, watching your every move! Made me very uncomfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Room looked clean but had a very strong mildew smell .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Th ocean view is great. The pool, exercise equipment and hot tub are good. Nice kitchen area.
Cons: firmer beds.
Location: Right on the ocean. Restaurants and shops up and down Atlantoc Ave.
We stay here all the time. The bed is a soft bed; but, that's the only uncomfortable thing about the rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice but it was the off season for the beach.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good mix of affordability and convenience

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: amenities in the room, convenience on strip, parking and ocean front rooms!
Cons: The breakfast! Again, fine if you want a bagel and Maxwell House coffee, but for the price of the room I expected some hot options and better coffee.
Location: Everything, it's right on the strip!
While the Barclay isn't as fancy as some of the other hotels on the beach... it was still a nice stay. ALL of the rooms are ocean front, so the view was wonderful! The room was clean and as we had a suite type room (perhaps they are all suites) it was helpful to have the kitchenette and sitting area. Also, since parking is an issue in VA Beach, one of the big reasons for booking here is they DO have parking! A small parking lot and a parking garage across the street. There is a pool and separate area with a hot tub, although we didn't use these amenities. The bed was comfortable (huge plus!) and the staff I interacted with was friendly. My ONLY complaint was the continental breakfast. It was very simple: breads, muffins, cereals, yogurt, fruit, hard boiled eggs and coffee, tea and juice. We ended up getting breakfast items and cooking in the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 28, 2016
It was okay. Wish there was bigger bowls and cups to drink.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
My stay was very good! They initially gave us a room where the previous guests had smoked in it against the rules, all the rooms were supposed to be non-smoking. They gave us a new room within 30 minutes. We were satisfied!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

OK for the price.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: The king size bed
Cons: Update the bathroom. Fix the cracked tiles on the floor. Update the couches and the pull out mattresses.
Location: it is a great location. Close the many restaurants and was easy to get to.
Booked at this hotel because we needed space for 5. The room did have a queen size pull out bed and enough floor space for a blow up mattress. However, the pull out mattress was so thin that you could feel the bars under it. One of my kids ended up sleeping on the floor. You are better off sleeping on the couch and ordering a rollaway bed. Much more comfortable. We did NOT have a bathroom like the ones in the hotel pictures. It was old, some mold spots and the stopper was not in the tub drain but rather resting on the side of the tub (kinda gross). The rug in the bedroom was wet from the water leaking from the bathroom. Breakfast was ok. Parking is very limited and if full, you need to park in the parking garage across the street.