Ratings based on 844 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
In need of updating the rooms. Carpets and walls very dirty. We were on the 2nd floor with a 7 month old baby. Turned out we were above the ballrooms with a wedding and reunion. Loud music, people and karaoke until 1:00 am. The website said they had umbrellas and chairs for the beach so we didn't bring any. They rented everything to one group. A very nice bartender lent us an umbrella because of the baby. In the 3 hours we were at the Beach, only 2 people from that group used the equipment rented.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us recently and we hope you know how sorry we are that the function in the ballroom disturbed your visit. We do hope that you enjoyed our beautiful location on the Chesapeake Bay with private beach access. We will immediately review your comments with our housekeeping team so we can avoid having this happen in the future. Please know we hope you enjoyed your time in the Virginia Beach area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Great Bay location...

Posted Sep 12, 2016
The bay was a new experience for us and we enjoyed it very much. The pool, hot tub, and sauna were open all night for adults (even though a few kids snuck in anyways). Location was great! The room was clean, but the did have a stale smell. The hot water worked fine, as did the a/c but both were not user friendly. Resort exceeded my expectations from the reviews I preciously read.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
What a beautiful photo, thank you so much for sharing! We are so glad that you enjoyed our beautiful Resort on the gorgeous Chesapeake Bay that does offer such incredible sunsets! Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your positive stay with us at our Resort on the Bay. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us in Virginia Beach again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Nice hotel right on the bay

Posted Sep 2, 2016
The room was great the location was great! My only complaint was there was trouble with the room key so we us to switch it 3 times before getting into our room. One of the times I went up while waiting for dinner to get a sweatshirt and had to wait about 20 minutes before someone could open my door because the key didn't work, so when I got back my food was on the table and cold, not the restaurants fault the food at trade winds was delicious!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to share such awesome photos of your trip! We are so glad you had such an awesome experience at TradeWinds Restaurant on site as well, but hope you will accept our apologies about the room key disruption during your dinner. Thanks for letting us know so we can correct for the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Needs updating

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Very expensive considering the fact that the hotel is very outdated and the sofa along with the carpet had gross stains. The staff was very nice, but I wouldn't recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
While we are so glad that our staff was friendly and attentive, we are sorry to read that our accommodations were not more to your liking during your stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We truly appreciate your feedback!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nueva York

Muy tranquilo, agradable ,comodo y muy bonito.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Me sentí súper bien en mi estadía de tres días, tuvimos un trato muy agradable. Lo recomiendo
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Outdated Facility

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Proximity to destination.
Cons: Everything, other than staff. They were very good, but they were stuck using old equipment, and there were not enough on duty during check-in.
The parking is very limited, and what parking there is has very narrow spaces. The rooms badly need renovation and updating. No flat screen TVS in rooms, door to balcony broken, bathtub would not drain. We have been here in the past, and nothing looks changed/updated in 8 years.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Although we appreciate you staying with us recently we do apologize if you did not enjoy your vacation on the bay due to the condition of your suite. Our hotel is older however we pride ourselves on maintaining a clean quality experience. We are sorry to have disappointed you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from selma nc

Hate this hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Old tvs, hard beds, not enough parking space, have to walk all around the hotel to go to the pool and beach..
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your time with us here on the Chesapeake Bay as much as we would have hoped. Access to our pool and beach are on the second floor located at the rear of the hotel near the bay. We are sorry if this was inconvenient yet do appreciate you staying with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Posted Aug 28, 2016
The best part was the location, without a doubt. The price we got made it worth it, compared to other waterfront properties. The hotel itself needs some renovations however. The size of the room was wonderful, as we stayed in a suite, but it lacked many of the amenities we expected. There were 2 mugs, coffee accessories, and 2 packages of coffee in the kitchenette; however no coffee maker! This was like a cruel joke to my husband, who loves his coffee. There were stains across the sofa and carpets. With some TLC and money, this could truly be a beautiful place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Our location right on the Chesapeake Bay is definitely wonderful for gorgeous views and offering a private area for our guests to access the beach. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you had a wonderful vacation while in Virginia Beach with us!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Remodel

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: the entire hotel
The pictures of the hotel are as old as the carpets, the decor and the tub panasonic tv. The rear patio door would not lock because the door was warp from all the moisture it has absor from the lack of maintenance in painting. The sofa bed was stained everywhere and the kids ended up sleeping on the nasty floor because the bed would not come out. The parking lot was muggy, unlit and dirty. Not to mention small and creepy from the lack of light. I spend a lot of money for a room that was suppose to be four stars well I will rate it zero stars and thats because I can't rate on the minus side.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
While we thank you for staying with us recently, we are disappointed to see your experience with us was less than perfect. Your detailed review will help us take your comments into consideration when making improvements to the hotel and making sure we offer only the highest level of service for our guests. Thank you for taking the time to give us your helpful feedback.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bring your earplugs and lower your expectations...

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Everything needs improvement, excluding the staff. They were very polite and patient especially knowing that they must get complaints daily.
First off, I reserved a room for three nights, canceling one night through Expedia. Expedia refunded my money for the one night but did not inform the hotel. When we showed up for our remaining two nights, the hotel said basically we were a "no-show" and therefore they had canceled the whole three days. They were very nice and did find us a room. It was possibly the worst night sleep ever in a hotel. We were two rooms away from the elevator and there was nonstop noise until well after 2:30 AM. We did complain and they did move us to another room which was marginally better. The hotel is in dire need of a complete overhaul. Especially when you pay a lot per night, all of the appliances, carpet, furnishings, everything is very very old and outdated. I will never stay here again, and unfortunately there is little to choose from in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
It's great to read that our team was so pleasant and offered such a high level of service during your stay with us. That's definitely a goal of ours! We hope you will accept our apologies and hope you know we are working diligently to ensure impeccable communication with the website in which you booked a suite with us. We appreciate your comments and thank you for staying with us when you were in Virginia Beach.