Ratings based on 894 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wilmington DE

Seriously dated hotel

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Needs significant facelift. Beds and bathrooms need totally redone
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We truly appreciate your feedback and thank you for staying with us recently. Your comments will be reviewed with our entire team because it's a top priority for us that our guests not only receive the highest customer service while they are here, but also from feedback we can continue to improve for the future. Before the winter ends, we will complete some upgrades that include brand new TVs, sofa beds, and carpeting in all the rooms. Thanks so much for staying with us and taking the time to tell us about your visit, and we hope you enjoyed staying on the beautiful Chesapeake Bay in Virginia Beach while you were here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from esva

Nice hotel, close to surgery clinic.

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: Elevators could be a little faster, but l'm sure this will be addressed before the next tourist season. Winter is when everything gets updated.
Location: Beach, museums, military bases, dining, shopping, and in season, antique car shows.
This is our second time we have come here in the last six months.We love it that we always get a suite with a kitchenette. And the hotel is right on the beach.the fitness room and the pool which is both indoors and outdoors, plus the nice hot tub makes this an ideal location for us. There are many restaurants that you can actually walk to within sight of the hotel if you choose not to eat in the hotel restaurant. The hotel also has a coffee shop that serves Starbucks coffee for all you coffee fans. For us,this hotel is in the perfect location since I am a skin cancer patient because it is just a short distance from the clinic that I must go to. Love this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for returning to stay at our resort again. We're so glad to offer a place of comfort with all that you enjoy on the beautiful Chesapeake Bay in Virginia Beach. Nothing makes us happier than when our guests get to enjoy all the museums, restaurants, shopping, and other area attractions nearby, including our gorgeous private beach access. We hope you also got to enjoy our team's friendly and attentive service, as well as have a great meal at TradeWinds Restaurant on site. It would be our pleasure to have you return to stay with us again and we wish you all the best!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bronx, NY

Very Pleasantly surprised

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: The Staff was very nice and efficient. Even called to alert us that the heat wasn't working properly and they delivered extra blanket.
Cons: I see they are making improvements, and I would hope they get around to painting the 'outside' of the patio doors.
Location: Since hotel was hosting a private party, we did not use The Tradewinds, however Hot Tuna is directly across the street. A supermarket as well.
I booked Hotel through Expedia and did notice some reviews were not favorable but I was well taken care of at check-in, and found the room to be very clean and larger than I had expected. The beds were pristine, as was the bathroom and living room area. I even walked barefoot on the rug and floor which is something I rarely do- but everything looked clean and comfortable. I had a partial view of the bay and was happy I caught a glimpse of dolphins! Yes there was also a view of the dumpster below, but obviously Hotel is upgrading and making improvements. Having only ONE night to spend there was my only disappointment. I would stay at Virginia Beach hotel/conference center again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disgusting Hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
The room was disgusting. My wife found blooded on the bathroom walls. There was hair from someone private are in the tub and next to the beds. It took 2 hours to get fresh towels. The carpet need to be shampoo. The front desk clerk was never in front. They were in the back office.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
While we thank you for staying with us recently, we are alarmed to read that your visit with us was disappointing. That is not the typical experience our guests receive and is by no means acceptable. We will be looking into what may have occurred during your stay to ensure that it does not happen again, and your comments will be reviewed with our team members immediately. Our sincere apology for not providing you with the memorable stay you deserved. We do hope that you enjoyed our beautiful location on the Chesapeake Bay and the Virginia Beach area during the rest of your stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Find a more up to date hotel until they upgrade it

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were without exception very friendly & helpful. Meal prices were good as was food quality. But the room carpet was dirty & unstretched & the hotel in general looks tired & run down. Great spot though!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
It is always a top priority for our team to offer friendly and attentive service that our guests like you deserve and we are certainly pleased this was the case during your recent stay. We’ll be sure to let our team know the excellent job they did and that customers are noticing their efforts. We do apologize for any inconveniences in your room and are beginning to make upgrades to the hotel right now. New televisions, carpeting and sofas are amongst those items we’ll be updating. Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback. Hopefully the rest of your time in Virginia Beach was pleasant and enjoyable while at our location on the Chesapeake Bay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Large suites

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
The room was fine but a little long in the tooth. For example, there was a flatscreen TV in the bedroom but a non HD tv in the living room. Ceiling tiles had some stains but the room was clean and comfortable. Got a great Thanksgiving price and would stay again for that rate. Would not pay the full rate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for staying with us for the Thanksgiving holiday recently and we are so pleased you found our suite accommodations comfortable and enjoyable! Cleanliness and comfort is definitely a top priority for us and we’ll be sure to review all your comments with our team as well. This winter, all rooms will be upgraded with brand new flat screen TVs, new sofa beds, and carpeting. We hope you also enjoyed our beautiful location with private beach access directly on the Chesapeake Bay and found it convenient. It would be our pleasure to have you back to stay in the Virginia Beach area again the next time you're in town. Thanks again for staying and for taking the time to tell us about your experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
The area was great for our stay, the hotel is outdated, carpet in hallway and room had stains on it, walked in the room and it was 78 degrees, so hot, thermostat set on 78 degrees with 75 degree outside temps. Room was hot at night even with the air on, thermostat only went to 68, never really cooled off. Bed was like a board and pillows were horrible. No extra toilet paper left, had to call housekeeping, no results, had to call front desk that evening after room had been made up. Gripping on bottom of tub looked so dirty, sure it was from many years of use, not very nice to look at. Other guest very loud at 11pm, running in hall, laughing, I had to ask them to please quiet down, noise went on and on, slamming doors.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are so glad you enjoyed our beautiful location on the Chesapeake Bay with private beach access and close proximity to lots of great local attractions like First Landing State Park and the Cape Henry Lighthouse. We'll be sure to review all of your comments with our housekeeping team to review what may have taken place during your stay, and we are sorry to read some other guests may have disturbed your visit. This winter we are looking forward to upgrades like new carpeting, new sofa beds, and new TVs in all our rooms for our guests to enjoy. We truly hope you enjoyed your visit to the Virginia Beach area and appreciate your feedback.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hurricane Matthew spoiled out stay!

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: All suite rooms. Nice beach setting.
Cons: Not enough information on emergency weather situation.
Location: Colonial Williamsburg was great. Just 30 minutes away.
Bad weather made our experience less than ideal worst part about it was we were not kept informed. No power for 12 hours and no updates from the staff. Otherwise I would have given a higher rating. Not enough flashlights either.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for staying with us. Having an incredible location on the Chesapeake Bay in Virginia Beach is definitely amazing, however unfortunate and uncontrollable weather can occasionally occur in our coastal area. We are thrilled you were able to make the most of it and visit some local attractions like Colonial Williamsburg and we are so glad you enjoyed it! Luckily our area has an abundant of options for entertainment and shopping even when bad weather is a factor during your vacation. Thank you so much for staying with us and for your patience, and we hope you will consider us again the next time your plans bring you back to visit Virginia Beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels