Ratings based on 912 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Aging hotel that could use a facelift

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: There was ample parking available all weekend and it is a convenient location for me.
Cons: The ice machine on my floor didn't work, neither did the one on the floor below me.
Arrived early to combat traffic. Despite knowing that check-in was 4 pm, I asked that morning about the possibility of an early check-in and was told absolutely not. I returned about 3 pm to find many people checking in ahead of the 4pm deadline I was given. The carpets are worn and aging rapidly, the walls need a new coat of paint desperately. The staff was pleasant if not a little understaffed. It was a holiday weekend but this hotel is not worth the premiums they are charging.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We love offering our guests ample parking to get in and out of our property with ease and hope your trip also included time well spent on the beach or dining at our delicious TradeWinds Restaurant. We will pass along your comments to our staff members so we can correct for the future. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your comments.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loud and Dirty

Posted Jul 6, 2017
If you like aging hotels near a beach then this one is for you. The faded, shiny vomit stains on the couch provided plenty of character while providing a place to sit during the hallway violence at 1 AM. Let's not forget the burning smell of chlorine you'll encounter as you head to the bar. Enjoy that drink with your toes in the sand and trash as you soak up the sounds of people arguing at 1 PM. Don't forget to sign up for the 3 AM Scooby-Doo door slamming contest. How many doors are on your floor? Sounds like 150!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
It is unfortunate that some other guests disturbed your recent visit at the beach with us and we are sorry this was your experience. Our guests usually love the peaceful atmosphere of our location on the Chesapeake Bay and we do hope you got to enjoy the Virginia Beach area. Our sincere apology that your visit wasn’t what you anticipated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Okay hotel. Great location

Posted Jun 18, 2017
The hotel needs some renovations. It isn't in the best condition. I loved the location. It is on the beach and close to a grocery store and restaurants etc. The cafe and the restaurant were nice. I also enjoyed the indoor/outdoor pool and sauna. My family had a great time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Our amazing, convenient location on the Chesapeake Bay is definitely a favorite feature for our guests! Families have fun splashing in the calm waters of the bay or swimming in our indoor/outdoor pool and we’re glad you had fun. We are so pleased you loved our delicious TradeWinds Restaurant and hopefully loved the views of the bay from your seat. Thank you for staying with us and we would love for you and your family to return to stay with us again the next time you visit Virginia Beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

On beach but rough

Posted May 21, 2017
First room was dirty, and well worn. The second room was better but we were kept awake much of the night when they were cleaning carpet in the room next door.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cold and windy, hoping for nice weather

Posted May 15, 2017
Room service excellent. Hotel very noisy, shower cold
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
It was nice having you recently with us and we agree, we had hoped the weather would have cooperated a bit better during your time with us here on the Chesapeake Bay. We are glad to see that you enjoyed room service from your suite and hopefully had a relaxing visit in your room despite the cooler temperatures. Hopefully you took advantage of our indoor heated pool and hot tub instead!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Absolutely Terrible - Avoid at all costs

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: It could be torn down.
Checked in to "Bay View" room. Hotel's definition of Bay View is sticking out of the balcony at a 127 degree angle to get a glimpse of the ocean. Request to be moved and got a new room with a view - but only if you sit just right on a filthy sofa in a room with vomit-stained carpet. Even so, you get a slice of the ocean between two buildings. Checked out right away and moved to a different hotel. The conference room my group booked had some liquid leaking in all over the carpet for days. Pointed out to the front desk to no avail. Parking lot and front driveway was flooded when it rained. Tradewinds restaurant is a joke - took an hour to get our food and 40 minutes to get a glass of Iced Tea from a pack. Every member of my group had complaints about the rooms. Bottom line : the place deserves to be taken out of Expedia so no one else books it.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Our guest feedback is most valuable to us and we always find ways to accommodate our guests when we can. We are also in the process of replacing all the carpet and sofa beds in all the rooms, as well as adding brand new flat-screen TVs for our guests. Please accept our sincere apology for the lack of proper service you received during your recent stay with us. That is not the customary style of service we provide and will follow-up immediately with our management team, including the usually loved TradeWinds Restaurant. Thank you for your insightful feedback and we do hope you got to make the most of the rest of your time in Virginia Beach.
2 out of 5
by jimmy

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
This property needs a renovation. It was once a premium hotel, fantastic location, but getting run down. The suites are a great design but the carpets and furniture are quite stained, the tub in the shower would not drain. Nothing like standing knee high in water when showering. The room balcony was tiny and disgustingly dirty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us recently and also for the feedback you have provided as it is helpful to understand the experience of our guests. We are making some changes to the hotel however not all of our rooms have been upgraded yet. We apologize that the condition of your room was not to your liking and items were not properly ready for your arrival. Our team is looking into the items you have mentioned and will remedy them quickly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Room carpet was stained and dirty. A/C didn't work
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and also for the feedback you have posted. Cleanliness and guest satisfaction is extremely important to us and we will immediately be looking into your comments with our staff. We apologize that you didn’t have a more enjoyable time at our Bayfront resort. Hopefully the balance of your visit and your time in the Virginia Beach area was enjoyed and you liked the great views of the Chesapeake Bay from our restaurant or deck areas.
1 out of 5
by Emma

Great location, terrible experience

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
When we arrived an hour after check-in, we were told our room was not yet ready and asked if we wanted to wait. We had a party to get to, so of course we did not want to wait. We were put in another room which we found had half of the ceiling of the shower missing and exposing all kinds of pipes and other materials up there. Because we were rushing to a party, I attempted to shower, even given the situation, and found we had no hot water. I called the front desk and while they did transfer us to another room, we were late to our party. Aside from this, the beds are uncomfortable. There was some noise that resembled a weedwacker or lawn mower outside, but it was inside our walls. It began at 5:30 in the morning and never stopped. Between this noise, the beds, the pillows, and the thin walls, it was a restless and uncomfortable sleep. The location of this hotel is great, but it is not worth the stay here. Stay on the oceanfront.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us recently and while we're glad you loved our great location on the Chesapeake Bay, we hope you will accept our sincere apologies that your visit was not more enjoyable. Making sure our guests enjoy an efficient check-in and have comfortable accommodations are extremely important to us, so we'll be following up with our team members about this. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in the Virginia Beach area and thank you for your comments.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Our room was very dirty as was overall hotel. There were people yelling and running up and down halls until 4AM. A very loud and aggressive fight took place outside our door at around3AM. Someone finally pulled the fire alarm to get help. I would never stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback you posted. Cleanliness and guest satisfaction are extremely important to us and we will immediately look into your comments with our team. The safety of our guests is also a top priority and we're disappointed that some other guests may have disrupted your visit. Please know we're doing all we can to make sure our guests always enjoy a comfortable stay to enjoy and relax while in Virginia Beach. We apologize that you and your family did not have a more enjoyable stay at our location in Virginia Beach on the Chesapeake Bay.