Ratings based on 1,164 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wingate in Virginia Beach

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Staff was very helpful and friendly.
Cons: Fix the air conditioner & bathroom sink.
Air Conditioner was too noisy and bathroom sink needed repair.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2016 by Becky GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for bringing this to out attention I will make sure these issues get addressed immediately.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2016
The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The employees were pleasant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Not the cleanest place to stay

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Carpets in lobby and halls were very dirty. There was hair in the shower when I arrived and it looked as if it hadn't been cleaned. Also along the shower was tons of caulking that was messy looking and fell off. Underneath there was black mold. Was not clean like I had hoped. I will not be staying here again and would not recommend it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bugs

Posted Sep 19, 2016
I didn't care for the roaches in my room and bathroom - but over all it was ok for the price I paid.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice Hotel and centrally located

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Location made it easy to get to the highways, plenty of parking and a lot of restaurants near by.
Cons: The pool and workout room. Needs to TLC.
Enjoyed our stay at the Wingate, the staff was very attentive. I needed to stay an extra night there and they were able to accommodate and helpful. The room was always clean when we got back and if we needed something they were promptly there. Breakfast was good. The pool was okay, water looked a little murky so we only went in once. The gym equipment needs to be replaced, the treadmill was wobbly and very loud. Some of the weights you couldn't really use because they were not very secure and they stuck together.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville

Great Value

Posted Sep 18, 2016
We were in town for a Military promotion ceremony. All hotels near the ceremony appeared to be $150 plus w/not too many amenities. This was I n addition to most hotels being booked. This hotel's staff was super friendly and very accommodating to our needs. Ms Ann stood out. She made our stay very memorable. All of the staff that we encountered during our stay exceeded our expectations. Great hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Pleasant Property

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: A little bit of freshening up ...
Location: Location great ... things to do not so much!
I travel quite frequently and am always looking for a hassle free experience. This hotel is great. It is slightly off the beaten track and yet close to the airport. Parking is never a problem. The rooms are clean and the AC always seems to be working properly. The facility is generally well maintained. Hotel staff are always smiling and the breakfast is more than adequate. The location is anything but scenic and shopping is limited. A romantic get away - no! A nice place to sleep - super!.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toccoa, ga

Great breakfast. Spotlessly clean.

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Cons: Lock on the door was not functioning well
My room was clean and very nice. Bed was comfortable and amenities were great
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Easy to get direct to oceanfront

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Nice to stay for this price and close to the beach. Other hotels in this price range closer to the beach were crappy hotels.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice visit.

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Close to great restaurants and not too far from the beach. Quiet and nice pool for the night.