Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2016
We like the location down town walking distance to the mall and restaurants. Staff was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2016 by Tiffany J, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you come back soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waldorf, MD

A place to lay your head!

Posted Aug 23, 2016
The outside and lobby is nice but the room didn't get any attention. My bathroom had a big hole in the wall with a vent over top of it but it wasn't that it was in can hear loud conversations in the room next to us. The carpet all around the base board was up not tucked and the air-conditioner had a smell( I had to Febreeze)and the bed was too firm, omg. No elevator to go to the parking lot, you have to walk up 2 flights of stairs or walk up the ramp to get to the door. One good thing was the food at their restaurant was good but we waited for about almost almond hour for taking our food to go. I hope the hotel administration is reading this too!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2016 by Tiffany J, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review - I am sorry you were not happy with your stay. We appreciate you letting us know how we can improve.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Hotel ok for location of planned venue

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: The lobby gives you a very good feel that the hotel should be very nice.
Cons: The sleeping quarters. The mattresses were horrible. Felt like there was a piece of plywood in between the bedding and the mattress. Uncomfortable!
Location: Location didn't appear to be in the safest of neighborhoods., however, since it was an exit away from Waterside, it was bearable.
When I arrived to the hotel and proceeded to check in, the front desk clerk was not accommodating at all. Advised her that when I made the reservation, I was told that I could present my AAA/AARP membership card and receive a discount at the time of check out. Non of my cards were honored. The desk clerk advised that since I had made the reservation through Expedia there was nothing she could do. I asked the front desk clerk could I pay with a different card and she would not honor that request either. I had a very bad check in experience with the front desk clerk. Very disappointed. I would not stay there again for that reason alone. Customer service is suppose to be a little more accommodating than my experience. Mind you I reserved 2 rooms. Just not satisfied with my service from check in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by Tiffany J, Hotel Management
Please accept our apologies for you feeling inconvenienced and mishandled during your stay. We will certainly research the items mentioned here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UT

BAD SMELL HARD BED

Posted Jul 18, 2016
AC WOULD NOT KEEP UP BED WAS HARD REALLY BAD SMELL , WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by Tiffany J, Hotel Management
We are sorry that you were unhappy. We will work hard to fix the items you mention so this does not happen again. Thank you for letting us know.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Brief stay to attend the Beth Moore Christian Conf

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Clean and comfortable
Cons: Include a Breakfast buffet
Very brief overnite stay while attending the Beth Moore Christian Women's Conference. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and the staff we encountered were very nice and accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2016 by Tiffany J, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your recent stay with us! We hope you enjoyed your conference and we are glad we could accommodate your needs. Thank you for letting us know how you enjoyed the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2016
horrible beds. Smelly hallways. Had to pay to park myself in a pretty empty parking lot. Issues at check-in regarding whether or not they had a room ready for me or not. Loud noises interrupted our sleep at 11pm to the extent we had to call front desk. Only pro was the nice security guard sent to check on us and noises.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2016 by Tiffany J, Hotel Management
I apologize for the inconvenience you suffered during your visit. We work hard to provide great service and unfortunately it seems you were not on the receiving end this time. Please accept our apologies and our promise to do better. thank you for letting us know.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Hotel restaurant closed, them the schedule posted was wrong. ATM was out of service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2016 by Tiffany J, Hotel Management
I am so sorry for your unpleasant experience. We will do what we can to make this better for future guests. Thanks for letting us know how we can improve.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

OK Hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: Staff was very courteous, and the Hotel restaurant was excellent.
Cons: Location
Location: Naval Station, Norfolk
OK, but not the greatest neighborhood. Parking was very expensive, and steep steps were required to get to and from your car.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2016 by Tiffany Joyner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with us - we definitely appreciate the feedback. I am glad that the staff and restaurant met your expectations. I understand that the location was a bit challenging - being downtown it is something we can not always control. However we do hope you come again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown

Posted Apr 5, 2016
It was an easy walk to downtown shopping, classes and very nice restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2016 by Tiffany J, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for choosing Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown as your home away from home! We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We also appreciate your feedback and would be delighted if you come back to visit us again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was close to business and school; also shopping

Posted Mar 22, 2016
We are always greeted so nicely: everyone so polite and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2016 by Tiffany J, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay and for your kind words about our hotel. We look forward to greeting you again soon!