Ratings based on 769 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Return to Norfolk

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Convenience and price ...
Cons: Hotel has undergone renovation and upgrades .... additional external landscaping (trees !) would make the place more appealing
Location: Hotel is 2 / 3 blocks from Norfolk Downtown Center (Granby Street) with related Tidewater Community College with several restaurants & cafes to chose
When in working mode this no-frills hotel is a great place to stay and still in walking distance to good sights and eats as well as public transportation (The Tide - Light rail) which connects to all Norfolk sights. The in-house Black Tuna Bar and Restaurant offers good draft beers and a good variety of well prepared and good tasting food.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Not for me.

Posted Mar 15, 2017
The hotel itself seems to be falling apart in places. The beds were awful and the bottom of the tub was black. It seemed as though they were pumping musky cologne through the air.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from richmond va

Close to scope arena

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Bed was worst I've ever slept in. Pillows were old. 1/4 elevators were working
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Great hotel. Nice and clean. We drove past it at first bc its not branded very well. And it was difficult to find the "front door" you have to drive up a ramp that is very akward, but they need to put better signage outside. The price is very reasonable for the location and there are tons of places to eat within a mile and things to do. It's close enough to the highway. The beds were rather hard, like super firm hard. And generally not a lot of security. There are side doors anyone can come in bc the key access and locks on the door are non functional. However, the area is not an unsafe area and i never once was concerned about that. Parking is plentiful and its $10 a day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Not too far from downtown- near good place to eat

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: The counter staff were nice. Really- no complaints in this department.
Cons: Get rid of the musty smell and update the decor. It looks like Jamie Curtis, Melanie Griffith and John Travolta should be staying here in 1983.
Location: Not far from Nouvelle- which was excellent. (I had a car, but walked everywhere) not too far from Granby street restaurants and pharmacy.
This hotel isn't far from Nouvelle- it calls itself a diner, but the food is outstanding and the staff is terrific. I reserved for three days. The decor is super outdated, and it smells a little musty in the hotel and it smelled musty in my room. Towels were clean, so was the bed, but I just didn't find it comfortable. I booked for three nights, but finished up my business a day early, so I went home. The Black Tuna grill doesn't look very appealing, and I heard a guy hocking a loogie in there the day I thought I'd try their breakfast, so I went to a different place. Nothing in this hotel was totally wrong, it just wasn't what I come to expect from a Wyndham at all. The hotel staff at the desk was very nice, though. It isn't their fault the franchise isn't up to standards. They certainly were. I didn't complain to them, because really, what could they have done? ;-)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Meh

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Bed was like a rock, but was big at least. One lamp in the room did not work and one of the power outlets was too loose to secure phone chargers. Hotel is basically a mix of nice and not so nice. The surrounding neighborhood on the other hand is 100% not so nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Very comfortable

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: The friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant and the service in the restaurant.
Cons: Check heaters in case they're too loud and adjust them accordingly.
Location: Plenty of restaurant and eatery establishments.
Comfortable, but the heater/air conditioner was noisy so I had to get the room a comfortable temperature & hoped it stayed that temperature until I went to sleep undisturbed. Housekeeping did check in and took good care of the room.
4 out of 5
by Robert

Convenient, comfortable but terrible heat System

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
I had booked this hotel as very comfortable and very convenient for my son's meeting at EVMS the folliowing day. However, the room heating system was VERY disruptive. He set the thermostat at a comfortable temperature, but every time the room temp fell below that, and the heating system kicked in, it apparently sounded like a jet airplane was taking off inside the room. The sound kept awakening him all through the night. Not sure if this is a general problem or specific to his room, but it was VERY disruptive and resulted in a very poor quality of sleep, expeciallty prior to a very critical meeting the next day. While it did not "spoil" the following day, it did cause him to have to find ways to deal with that constant disruption of sleep. Very disappointing for an otherwise good experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are pleased that your son had a productive, successful meeting. We do, however, apologize for the heating making the sound that it. I hope that your son did report that so we can fix the issue. We do not want that issue to cause disturbances with other guests. Thank you for posting your review and hope to see you or your son again soon. Have a wonderful 2017!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly and helpful staff.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: The staff was very helpful, going out of their way to help a disabled traveler. My room was spacious and comfortable.
Cons: NA
Location: NA
I arrived at the hotel a day or two after a major snowstorm. The staff was very helpful, going out of their way to help a disabled traveler. My room was spacious and comfortable. Perhaps my only negative was the English muffin I ordered for breakfast was hard (stale maybe?). Otherwise my stay was excellent. I would happily stay at this hotel again and probably will on my next trip to Norfolk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by Eric P, Hotel Management
We are glad that we were able to be your comfort zone during that snow storm. We pride ourselves on providing the finest personal service and facilities all of our guest. Thank you for joining us and we anticipate seeing you on your next trip to Norfolk.